Back to Normal, and Working on Plans


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Si Racha
December 18th 2006
Published: December 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Friends,

Whew. Just finished the last of my Cambodian entries and I am thoroughly tired of commuting to the internet cafe to work on this blog.

It has been really nice to get back into a comfortable lifestyle, though. I'm happy back here with the African girls. Life is smiley and relaxed. I fill my days with a short list of enjoyable activities:

-Sleeping comfortably
-Eating my fill
-Exploring the 'hood on my tiny bicycle
-Reading voraciously
-Working-out again
-Cooking healthy foods with my new contraption

And of course, working online.

But, this blog isn't the only project that I've been pouring my energy into. I've got a new mission.

Somewhere in Cambodia I made up my mind that I wasn't gonna travel again without Chelly. This was contrary to our existing plans, but I just didn't want to see any more places without her. Luckily, she was thinking the same thing. So, I came home and I told her that I wanted to take her with me when I left Thailand in January and headed towards Greece.

Her response could only be described as, "ecstatic."

I found a box of crackers the other day with lists of Northern Thai proverbs printed on it. One of the proverbs said, "When one dives, go down to the bottom. When one lies down, look up through the sky." Well, that's the proper sentiment, and now we're working on the next stage.

In-depth research and lots of advice-asking has led us to two possible ways to make this transit:

1. Return to my original plan, finding a boat to take us to India (possibly as yacht crew), crossing India by bus and train, then deciding whether to do boats into Greece or to go overland through Pakistan, Iran (which has excellent diplomatic relations with Kenya), and Turkey.

2. Check out the northern route, re-visiting Laos on the way to Vietnam, then booking a train to Beijing, continuing onto the Trans-Mongolian Railway, connecting to the Trans-Siberian railway, turning south at the Caucasus Mountains, then traversing the Black Sea to Greece.

Both are wild and difficult and we'll definitely be going too fast to do these amazing places justice. Well, that's our journey, and we can always come back again later.

So, if you know anything about these routes, or if you have any crazy tips, let us know. Otherwise, share our smiles and wish us luck!

Peace,
Nic





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb