The Elephant Mahout Project


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Sattahip
September 8th 2008
Published: September 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I forgot to put a few pictures on, actually I 'lost' them on the desktop. I swear they were hiding!

I might as well give a quick update....

Yesterday Tia & me were at Mrs Noi's as he's helping her to do her garden. His task is to cut the whole lawn...with a pair of shears! I whiled away the time on the computer, mainly playing on-line scrabble with Louise, trying to redeem my absolute thrashing from the previous game.

Once the gardening was finished for the day we went to see the house on Mr Boonserms land that we might be moving in to, we had a key this time so that we could look inside. It has a reasonable sized bedroom, a kitchen area and a small bathroom....slight problem though in that the toilet appears not to be plumbed in! I timed us getting there and it's 15 minutes from Khao Chee Chan i.e. Tia's family/friends and the camp for the volunteer project. I did a bit of a recce of the area and there's a small market afew minutes drive away, I was trying t work out how long it would take me to walk
whisky hatswhisky hatswhisky hats

on sale at Tai Tai Elephant Garden are these hats made from 100 Pipers whisky boxes. Shall I? Shall I?
there, probably a while!

On the way back we stopped to see a friend of Tia's and realised that the motorbike had a flat tyre. So Tia went off to get it fixed, leaving me sat there with old Thai people. They didn't speak to me at all, but I knew that they were talking ABOUT me as I kept hearing them say 'farang' the general word for foreigner/westerner/ interloper.....

I'd been away from Khao Chee Chan for a few days, sleeping at Mrs Noi's for two nights after an apparent allergic reaction to shellfish. I didn't know that I was allregic to it as I don't usually eat it. When we stayed at the camp we had Tom Yum Goong (shellfish soup with lemongrass and coriander) and I ate some of that. The next day I had an upset tummy, was really tired (in bed asleep by 7.30pm tired) and had broken out in a rash. I'll stick to Tom Yum Gai (chicken soup) in furure!

When I got back to the camp Bim came running up to me shouting 'Saaaammmm' then stole my yogurt and peanuts........ she redeemed herself by telling me that she'd missed me and loved me very very much!

We've been taking Bim to school on a morning as it's on the way to Tai Tai/Mrs Noi's. We certainly get some attention, it is quite unusual I guess, especially in the Pattaya vacinity, to see a Thai man with a western woman, even more so when it's as part of a trio on a motorbike with a 6 year old Thai kid!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Chicken Jaw fortune Telling...Chicken Jaw fortune Telling...
Chicken Jaw fortune Telling...

At the Pa-Kam ceremony before the volunteers leave the camp the mahouts 'read' the volunteers future from the jawbone of a chicken made as an offering to the mahout spirit fathers - that's the whole, cooked chicken not just the jaw that's made as an offering!
This is my house.....This is my house.....
This is my house.....

and this is what I usually have to get through to get into it.....an obstacle course of mahouts, in this case playing cards...
My potential house at Tai Tai...My potential house at Tai Tai...
My potential house at Tai Tai...

although that may now be a completely different story...
ice creamice cream
ice cream

coconut ice cream with rice, sweetcorn and beans....errm....yum??


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb