Going to Kansas City...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Nonthaburi
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cousin PeteCousin PeteCousin Pete

Thai American Idol 2nd Runner up
This will be the last and final blog. Sad.

Friday, Feb 22
Today was spent lazying around the condo. We walked next door for the best pork satay and noodle soup in town. These noodles may be the food that I will miss most besides Mango and sticky coconut rice. After we returned from lunch, Stu swam and read while I got my nails (hands and feet) done at the clubhouse. $8. In case you haven't noticed, prices here are good. Mom came back from the hairdresser after that and we taxied our way to the closest subway station to head downtown. Next stop foot massage. $8 also. I think I fell asleep with my mouth open. The guy on the other side of Stu was snoring loudly so I didn't feel too bad. Our final stop for the night was dinner at my Uncle's restaurant. He has a small little cafe style place. One of my aunts and my grandmother was also there, as well as my uncle's son Pete. Pete and another friend of my uncle's were there pretty much for the entertainment. The friend played a mean guitar and Pete won third on Thai "American Idol". They
Uncle LekUncle LekUncle Lek

Wife Pad and dog. At his restaurant.
had a version over here and he obviously did really well....even has a CD out. Anyway, those two led the singing and then we turned it into a Karaoke style party singing a lot of oldies such as the Beatles, John Denver, and even a rendition of "Kansas City...Kansas City here I come". I never knew Stu was such a crooner. After a couple bottles of wine we packed it in and came home.

Saturday, Feb23
Our last day here. This morning we're enjoying breakfast at the condo before heading to town to do some shopping. At 2pm we are meeting at my aunt's house for "tea" and a send off party. We are hoping to finish the night off with a massage and dinner at Silom Village. After that, we'll probably just head back for a few hours sleep before having to leave at 3:30am to catch our flight home.

Sunday, Feb 24
This will be what feels like 50 billion hours on the plane - 7 to tokyo and 12 to detriot - before arriving home at 5pm. I'm so pumped to get to sleep in my own bed. That's the only thing I'm looking forward
BooBooBoo

Scary lady in middle.
to returning to. Well that and seeing everyone. Mainly I'm not excited about going back to work.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb