The international language of aerobics: nung, song, saam, MAMBO!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Chonburi
February 5th 2009
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have joined street aerobics twice now. It appears that it happens at least every weekday (not sure about weekends) from 6 - 7 PM. The charge is 5 baht per person, which is about 15 cents. At first I wondered why bother even charging at all, but then I realized that with probably over 50 people there, those 5 little baht can sure add up to a nice little wage for an hour of work.

The first time the routine was easy enough to follow. I only got lost just about as much as I would at home in a regular class at the Y. The spritely and flamboyant male leader was very enthusiastic about his routine. Besides the numbers, he would say some of the apparently internationally recognized key words, like "cha-cha-cha" and "mambo." The second night the routine was more complicated and I got more lost, but I still got sweaty, so I was satisifed. The market across the street from aerobics has a bunch of smoothie stands and also some salads to go. It's almost like Boulder (except for about a million little details)-- I used to like to go get Whole Foods salad bar after working out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb