A different view of Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 30th 2006
Published: October 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well for those of you wondering, i didn't sit for long in the pub on my own last night. As soon as i sat down and got my map out the waiter started chatting to me and then a very nice guy sat opposite, joined in. He was American but living here and so gave me all the insider tips on where to go and what to see. We spent a very nice few hours chatting over drinks before going our seperate ways.

He'd suggested that i try a local night market that is used mainly by Thais. So i jumped in a taxi and went to explore. I was amazed when i got there it, was massive. You walked through the gates into a huge square of bars and food stands and in the middle were tables where people were sitting enjoying the warm night air. A local band were playing what i think was supposed to be copies of Western music and it was interesting to say the least. After the beer and food area - which yes i did eventually manage to drag myself away from i had a wander round the market. It gets a bit samey after a bit cos its all silk, shoes, carvings and jewellery but its nice to soak up the atmosphere and do a bit of people watching. Then i ventured onto a huge ferris wheel and took some nice pictures of the Bangkok skyline at night, which i promise i will put on here tomorrow. After that i got a taxi home and clambered into bed.

After a very bad nights sleep and a bit of a lie in i packed up my stuff and checked out. Not before the owner had insisted on giving me breakfast (he also got me dinner last night) to make up for the inconvenience of all the building work. I mentioned it to one of the other girls in the hostel about how nice of them it was to supply breakfast and she stared at me blank- been here 3 weeks and hasn't had as much as a complimentary bottle of water, oops i guess you've either got it or you haven't!!

I then set of on the skytrain with a view to finding a pier to catch a boat and ride north to another part of the city. I was joined on the ride up the river by another nice American who insisted on chatting all the way. Apparently one of his sons is a player for the Mets and showed me his card, you know the sort of ones kids get of football players etc. He backed this up with another photo of himself, the aforementioned baseball player and his other son. If only i was interested i might even have been a bit impressed! Anyhow after the boat trip i wandered round the back-packer area here and decided i would come and stay here for a couple of nights. I feel like everyones Granny, they're so bloody young but it looks like it might be fun, expecially as Hallowean is MASSIVE here and so tomorrow night is party night.

I set off back to the original hostel which i thought judging by my map was a couple of miles away but i fancied the exercise. Well after 40 minutes of trudging through smoggy streets being stared at by the locals (don't think any visitors go to those parts normally!) i hailed a taxi and gave in. Map was useless, that's my excuse and i'm sticking to it! Bags acquired i tried to get another taxi to take me back but hadn't bargained on the fact that it was then 3 o clock and none of them wanted to slog all the way over to the other side of the city just as the schools and colleges were kicking out- traffic horrendous! So with my very heavy backpack where you'd expect it and another smaller one on my front i set off in the 32 degree heat to find an alternative way of getting there. One busy skytrain and bus ride later i deposited my bags in my new hotel and crashed in my now opulent surroundings. Well that is to say the bed is now nearer the floor than the ceiling and i've got a bathroom all to myself, the shear luxury of it all, where will it end?

So that's pretty much me up to date, apart from my hour foot massage, i thought i deserved it after my busy day. But now my neck hurts, yes that's what i said. Went in for a foot massage and end up with some little thai woman practically sitting in my sholders pushing my chin towards my chest! I'm sure it'll be good for me in the long run. I'm going back to my room to take a shower in my very own bathroom and once again venture out for food, drink and some nice company. You all take care and thanks for listening.

x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb