One night in Bangkok and the world's your oyster


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 5th 2006
Published: October 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the bars are temples but the pearls aint free" ah you see I do have some good songs in my on occassion. Who could forget the Murray Head classic - One Night in Bangkok! Those of you in the know will be singing this right about now!!

Last time we talked, I was on my way to the theatre to see The Vegemite Tales. It was a great production, a small audience so very intimate.

The next morning I pack up my things and get a cab to Paddington to jump on the Heathrow Express. Within 15 minutes we are at Heathrow and I am checking onto the flight to Thailand. I still have a couple of hours before I fly out so I get my last full english breakky (sob!) and do some last minute shopping including strolling around Boots my favourite ever chemist.

When my gate is displayed on screen I make my way there, show my boarding pass and await in the lounge to be able to board. The room fills quite quickly and everyone gets very annoyed when told that there has been some mistake with processing the seat and we all must do it again. Once that's over, it's onboard and ready for take off. I have an aisle seat so I am happy. The flight from London to Bangkok is only about 8 hours, we leave London at 12.30 in the afternoon and arrive in Bangkok at 6.05 in the morning their time. Bizarrely, because of this after lunch, the lights are dimmed and everyone is made to close their shutters, effectively trying to convince us it is night. Well that didn't work for me, whilst other snooze around me I am awake, waiting, waiting!

The flight lands on time and it is relatively pain free getting through customs. I meet up with my transfer guy and head for my hotel. The traffic in Bangkok is very heavy so it takes us well over an hour to get to the motel. I am staying at the Baiyoke Sky which is the tallest building in Bangkok spanning 88 floors. My room is on the 33rd floor and provides a great view of the city. My room is absolutely huge with a big king size bed and both a bath and shower,which after a month on the road is bliss. I always am a bit daunted in a new city but am really in Bangkok for some R & R so check the TV for MTV and lay back on my king size bed. This is surely the life!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb