Sun Block Adventures


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 13th 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I forgot to mention in the last entry that before I headed out to Laos I had just bought sun block that I used but was unfortunately allergic to. I also had to get passport pictures that day for my Lao visa, that sucked. Now I have 11 more copies of my swollen face (I won't be posting that one). I should mention that if anyone ever travels to a South East Asian country, you should really pack the sun block unless you want one that makes your skin white. They have an obsession with looking white here. It's desired because if you're light it means that you are wealthy and you don't work in the fields. It's a little old fashion for the kids that work/live in the city but I think its so ingrained into everyday life that its just popular now to look as light as possible.

Some of the really funny whitening products that I've run across in my quest for sun block. Whitener for:
Armpit
Nipple (there's also one to make it pink-I'll be trying that one (not really))
Face
Plus the usual other parts of the body

What I thought was really interesting was that my sun block would turn my skin white, allowing me to burn more. So I picked the only one that didn't have whitener. Foiled!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.052s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0798s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb