WALKING TOUR IN CHINA TOWN GUIDED BY A LOCAL: TIM


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 20th 2014
Published: June 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It was Keith last day at school and the last chance for Tim our assistant instructor of Chinese heritage to show him China Town first hand. They invited me. I had plan to go get the sensors of my camera cleaned and shop of a sturdier tripod but I knew it was a special opportunity to see China Town through local eyes so I joined.

Tim walked us thru amazing markets, traditional Chinese courts, showed us the oldes houses, made us taste longevity tea made in the oldest brewers and lotus lower tea. We stopped at a place were the sell bird saliva. But the most amazing experience was at the Chinese temple were we got to see young monks praying. I didn’t really make an effort to take a photo because I wanted to respect their spiritual state but that was really beautiful. I asked Tim why the monks were so young and she said when kids are abandoned by their parents or are poor instead of going to the streets they go to a temple were they get taken care of.

I felt like snapping shots but there was no chance to do photography. I got what I got ....


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Street vendorsStreet vendors
Street vendors

Photo bomb!
Flip flaps lady...Flip flaps lady...
Flip flaps lady...

she actually turned around to see what I was taking photos off
Smoked pig and duckSmoked pig and duck
Smoked pig and duck

...the insect stories are just for the tourists....apparently Chinese people eat a lot of things but not insects


21st June 2014
Owner of the shop cleaning the bird saliva and watching stocks

Photo
Intense concentration.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb