Checkin' Out Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 7th 2014
Published: May 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After a crazy Monday & Tuesday -- Jennifer took me to the airport to start the Thai adventure. 😊

2 flights and 20 hours (plus a day) later I arrived in Tokyo and was greeted by our lovely, well rested, parents. After a little sushi snack we were on our way to Bangkok... A short 6 hours flight later we arrived. DANG were we happy! It was hot and humid but SO incredibly awesome to see my baby bro!! By the time we got to Eli's apartment it was 1:30AM; we walked to 7-11 (Eli's normal late night snack) and around his neighborhood for a few minutes and before long he and I were in a cab to go meet his fun friends at a bar called Mixx. I felt like I was in a really weird dream (or nightmare) , where I was sucked into an awkward Las Vegas club with lady boys and prostitutes surrounding us... Not just a few, enough that if we were to brawl in the bar, we would be outnumbered. Absolutely worth it. All smiles and gin, lots of gin.

Friday we woke up early (yawn), ate breakfast and embarked on a very busy day. We walked, taxied, tuk-tuk-ed, and boated all over Bangkok. Visiting the reclining Buddha, 1000's of Buddha's, the old city by boat, Eli's School (Chulalongkorn), MBK (the craziest, biggest mall EVER), the subway and so much more. After a crazy long day, Eli and I joined mom and dad at Sam and Jeffrey's house (their friends) for dinner house. It was absolutely stunning and delicious. I almost fell asleep at dinner, but nothing a couple of drinks couldn't fix. A few tequila shots later and Eli and I were on our way to a graduation party and then another night at the bars. Absolute blast followed by Mc Donald's with one of E's besties, Basti and a 6AM arrival back to the apt. The birds were chirping as I was falling asleep. Awesome.

Saturday was Eli's last day in his apartment and last day as "life as he knew it" -- So he and I spent the whole day hanging with his crew. We started by going to So Sofitel for an EPIC brunch. I mean seriously EPIC. All you can eat and all you can drink, cheese, wine, oysters, fish, meat, sushi, carbonara, desserts out the wazee.... you name it, they had it. RIDICULOUS. Honestly, best brunch I have ever been to. The icing on the cake was that the whole restaurant used repurposed products. Shipping crates, wine boxes, silver wear.. I was in HEAVEN. Slightly tipsy we left the Sofitel and got on scooters (yes scooters) and headed to get massages. $25.00 for 90 minutes.. I am not complaining. Around 8:30 PM Mom and Dad took 8 of Eli's friends out to dinner at Soy11 where we ordered what felt like 100 items and then went out for the last time in Bangkok to Levels, one of Elis favorite spots. Honestly it was my kinda day.. Eating and Pampering. WIN!!

Sunday AM, Eli and I were up and at em' bright and early to meet mom and dad for our flight to Cambodia. It was a very emotional cab ride as Eli said goodbye to the life changing experience and fantastic adventure and see you later to all of his new and amazing friends that he will remember forever.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb