12th Jan 2014 - Traveling Commences


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 14th 2014
Published: January 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After two months of being back home after seeing my friends in Tampa I finally set off on my travels. Denise took me to the airport again, thanks my dear... Checked in all good, reluctantly had a beer or two, I think I'm still off booze from Christmas.... And boarded Air India AI112.

Air India.... Well... As soon as I got on the plane it reminded me of the Khyber restaurant in Swindon. To say it smelt of curry was an understatement but I like that smell so it was all good. The plane was pretty much on its last legs (interior wise) and the selection of TV was epic.... If you like old black and white movies.... All in all though it got me to Delhi and that's all that matters.

When I arrived at Delhi I was greeted with a smell of smoke... Delhi airport stinks of bonfire... I'm not sure whether the smell was from pollution from outside or what but I had a sore throat by the time I left. Boarded the next flight after 1 hour delay and yet again the plane was pretty drab but I had a row of 3 seats to myself so it was nice to stretch out.

Got to Thailand, and me being the dumbass that I am I went to the wrong area to collect my checked baggage. Security wouldn't let me back in to collect it so I had to wait 45 minutes for someone with some power of authority to walk me in and get my bag... I had been at Bangkok Airport for over an hour and a half at this point. I finally got my bag and managed to get a free shuttle to my hotel, Plai Gardens, which was only 5 mins away. Lush hotel considering I only paid £11.

Stayed at Plai Gardens for one night, got the free shuttle back to the airport so I could get the bus to Jomtien in Pattaya. That took 3 hours by the time it had made all the stops and I had got on then back of a pick up truck to hitch a lift to my next Hostel, Jomtien Beach Hostel.

Checked in at Jomtien Beach, really nice and perfect as I only paid £5 for this one. As I didn't get to Jomtien until 4.30pm I decided to go an get some food and to chill out. Got a nice picture of the sunset setting over the sea.

Had two pork Kebabs, 30p each, bargin, came back to the hostel and wrote this. Its 23.14 so night night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb