Bangkok Solo


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 7th 2013
Published: September 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Banglamphu CanalBanglamphu CanalBanglamphu Canal

While Bangkok is not exactly the "Venice of the East," its canals are littered with massive swimming lizards!
There's nothing like the gift of travel. I recently graduated from law school, and my mom and her boyfriend presented me with a much-coveted and highly-anticipated trip to SEA.

I spent my first day in Bangkok touring the city alone. There's nothing like experiencing a foreign city unaccompanied. My hotel is conveniently located in Bamglamphu, so I was able to walk to some of the more oft-visited, historic sights.

I visited Wat Pho and it's famous reclining Buddha before enjoying my first Thai massage (the wholesome kind, of course). The masseuse was a tiny, elderly woman albeit incredibly strong. She climbed all over me to reach certain pressure points, and it was undoubtedly the best massage I've ever experienced - and only $8!!

Next, I visited the Grand Palace followed by a tour of Bangkok's canals. I clambered into a very old, very colorful boat and the driver took off immediately from the pier (no wait at all!). The boat reminded me of the pirogues used for fishing in Senegal. However, there was an engine attached that looked a lot like car engine. Very dubious 😊 At first I was nervous being the only passenger aboard, but the
Wat ArunWat ArunWat Arun

Really stunning!
tour quickly evolved into the most interesting part of my day. The banks of the canal provide a somewhat uncomfortable window into the extreme poverty that pervades Bangkok (elderly woman lying on the floor near the water, trying to achieve some respite from the humidity). I felt like a voyeur staring into these people's open doorways and windows, but you can't help but wonder at how the other half lives. Are they happy? Do they wish for more? I also passed schools with young, uniformed children waving and blowing kisses. Do these children also live along the canals? What a different way to grow-up in the world.

My travel buddy arrives in a few hours, and we intend to visit the floating markets and a Muay Thai match, so more to come soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Reclining Buddha housed at Wat PhoReclining Buddha housed at Wat Pho
Reclining Buddha housed at Wat Pho

The largest reclining Buddha in Thailand.


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb