Thailand Part II


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 14th 2013
Published: March 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The writing has been very difficult for me since leaving South America. I guess it has different reasons, for one, I do miss South America a lot and cannot open my heart to Asia because of that, the second, things I see repeat themselves, of course its all different in some way or another but overall the markets, the contraries, the beaches, even the way the people look remind me of SA and number three is that travelling is a hard job. believe it or not 😊

However I think I have some motivation to continue writing not as sporadic as before... will see.

Daniel and my father came to visit. They left today and Im alone again, for the first time since mid-december. It feels strange and I have to get used to it again, however I am in desperate need of some lazy. quiet and lonely days. My brother and my father have been very active and throughout the day the only time to relax was at the beach, but since we got back to Bangkok those "beach-hours" were wiped out... sadly.

We started our trip in Pattaya (not worth mentioning...) and headed after only one night to Koh Chang. where we stayed for a week. The island is the second largest in Thailand, it was beautiful, mountains, forest everywhere, waterfalls, many beaches and lagoons. we rented motorbikes and visited the entire island in just two days, passing fishermen's villages, seeing every beach and coming across dodgy roads. It was an amazing place to relax. We rented kayaks and visited small islands for snorkeling around- we tried oysters, ate more fresh fruit than ever in our lives before and Daniel had a thai pancake every night.

The last 5 nights we spend in Bangkok. To Bangkok I have a hate and love relationship -its so crowded and hot and humid and the weather is unstandable- however I almost love it for the exact same reasons, its so crowded that you see something interesting no matter where you look, its hot and mostly sunny. I discovered so many places in that city that I dont even know where to begin. Lukas joined back in on the first night we arrived but only stayed two nights and then left back to Berlin. As we met Mai- a really cool tuk tuk driver- on the first night he showed us many places around, including his home, his wife, children and neighbors. They invited us one night for some drinking and I have to say its impossible to keep up with the drinking ladies! It was an amazing night with many "I love you"'s as farewell 😊

Puh, summarizing we have seen Wat Pho- the laying Buddha, which is 46m long and 15m high! We went to the Grand Palace, the floating market, Asiatique, Kaosan Road, we saw a ladyboy show (which was really good!) and we ate at many many small local street food vendors.

As they boys left today I changed the spacious private bedroom with own bathroom in the apartment with a swimmingpool on the roof to a 6-people dorm in a hostel 😊 I forgot already how backpacking feels like...

I am in a completly different part of Bangkok now, close to a market called Klong Toey. I have been walking around there for quite a bit today and was most surprised when the huge crowded masses of people suddently -at 6pm- stopped walking... and I almost ran into the people ahead of me. When I noticed that nobody is moving I stopped, too, as I didnt want to be disrespectful. I still have to figure out what that is. I heard someone singing and assume the national anthem was played? I dont know.

Thats it from me now.

Hope everyone is well in Europe and the snow will give you peace and finally disappear xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb