Messy Bangkok, Muay Thai and the Race of Champions !!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 2nd 2013
Published: January 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Days 96 – 97 (Tues 11th – Wed 12thDec)



So I moved into Bangkok centre on Tuesday morning, to the famous backpacking area of Khao San Road. Straight away it struck me this was a place I was going to like, travellers everywhere you look and plenty of drinking establishments.

I found my hostel 1 street away after getting a little lost. The pace of life within 5 minutes here is so much quicker than that in the Philippines. While people still dawdle about, which annoys me somewhat, people are generally doing more here. Khao San Rd itself is maybe 200 metres long full of bars, street food and large bins of ice with cold beer in, pretty much my idea of heaven. I walked down the river for a bit towards the Grand Palace and milled about, constantly getting offered tuk tuk rides by Thai’s. It’s generally a scam as the offers are way too cheap, so I decline as nicely as I can.

The first night I just headed to the Irish bar and then for a walk around. No idea what time I got in but it was a laugh, so many people to chat too and meet.

Wednesday I was considering staying in watching a film until 2 English girls checked into my dorm room. After around a minute of chatting it was clear we were off out on the lash, which we did in style. Dancing in the middle of the street is common here. I did try to resist but after enough Chang I was doing the Macarena with Olive and Naa and plenty of other people. The buzz and nightlife here is nothing I’ve seen yet on my travels, as I’ve generally been in less touristy places or places that don’t consume beer as much as here. It was like being 18 again in Magalluf, loving it !!

Woke up both days to horrendous hangovers. I had planned on doing a bit of sightseeing but that has not happened yet due to waking up dying both days. I am going to be back in Bangkok in a few months, so looks as if the sightseeing may be postponed until then. The main Grand Palace tourist sight here requires trousers to be worn and in 35 degrees with a hangover I can’t handle it. When I come back I may stay away from Khao San to stop the temptation.



Day 98 (Thurs 13th Dec)



When I managed to get up I headed out with Olive and Naa as they needed to go to the train station and I needed fresh air. They got their tickets to Chiang Mai sorted and we demolished a KFC. After this we went to the Golden Mountain, which isn’t really a mountain but it is very golden. Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera on me so no pictures but it’s a great spot to look out over the City. There are some impressive Buddhist statues and the climb isn’t too steep at all which is handy in this heat.

I needed to head back to the hostel after this so I could get changed to go watch the Muay Thai Boxing. It’s pretty much Thailand’s national sport as there isn’t a lot else I can think they’re good at sport wise. It’s not a cheap night at all but I sat ringside, figured I’ll only go the once so might as well. Was sat with plenty of other travellers and holiday makers in the expensive seats while locals generally were in the pen at the back behind a huge cage. The fighting is at times ferocious, most fights start slowly and get better as they go on. One guy got pummelled for 5 rounds but wasn’t floored. Must have taken 8-10 kicks square in the face but survived. I think one lad broke his ribs, looked in agony. Most fights were pretty even and well contested, the corner we sat in had 8/9 winners.

After this I went for 1 drink with Willem from Holland, this soon turned into 5am as it seems to happen here.



Day 99 (Fri 14th Dec)



After 3 days on the sauce my body was ruined. I spent the entire Friday in bed pretty much. Complete write off of a day.



Day 100 (Sat 15th Dec)



I was still not feeling very well on Saturday but at least I had the Red Bull Race of Champions to look forward too. I got very lucky with this as I was researching events in Bangkok and realised this was on. 2 nights watching formula 1, Moto GP and rally drivers basically drag racing in various different cars from Audi’s to Lamborghini’s and custom made RoC cars just for the event. The stadium its being held in to me looks like a half size Nou Camp and the track is quite cool.

There was plenty of entertainment both inside and outside the stadium, the event being ran similar to a normal race weekend. The main draws to the event being the German team of Michael Schumacher and Sebastien Vettel, both of whom on night 1 didn’t lose a race and ended up taking the title back to Germany for the 6th straight year, but with 10 world titles between them I can’t say I was surprised.

The only downside to the event is it’s in an awkward place. I walked 1 hour to the Airport link train line, went 3 stops I think and a further 30 minute walk to the stadium, which took me 10 mins to get too when I could see it as I got stuck in a walled estate and couldn’t find a way out.

On leaving and heading back into town I got chatting to an Irish lad from Cork so we are due to meet tomorrow to go out together, saving the need for me to walk and saving half the price in the taxi’s. After the racing I went back to Khao San but managed to avoid the draw of Chang. I grabbed a kebab and headed for the hostel, where a night of little sleep ensued due to various people leaving early, the fan doing my crown in and at least 3 heavy snorers. Maybe I should have had a beer or 2!! Also I had made the big 100 days; soon it’ll be Christmas, New Year and be 4/5/6 months before I know it. Time sure flies out here although nothing happens quickly.



Day 101 (Sun 16th Dec)



Used the morning to work out where to go after Bangkok and after a bit of research I had a pretty decent plan on how to get to Chiang Mai without missing half the country. I got some lunch and watched a film before meeting up with Rory to head out to the Race of Champions night 2. We left earlier than I did the day before and with taxi’s to the station we made it out there for around half 5. This was far earlier than the day before for me meaning we could watch the pre racing entertainment outside. This varied from a local band on stage, to seeing all the Lamborghini’s and Ferrari’s parked outside, to various stages and dancing girls, as well as a red bull drifting team and Chris Pfeiffer, being world stunt bike champion performing. There was also scooter racing and a large food court area. They went to plenty of effort to provide lots for the fans to do before the event which is good, made the experience all the more better.

We headed in just before 8 to watch the Race of Champions, this night was the solo racing. The schedule was confusing until the semi’s as I’m sure there was 6 quarter finals but nether the less the night was very entertaining and most races were pretty close. The eventual winner being Romain Grosjean from F1’s Lotus team, beating Schumacher and Vettel on the way to the final. He was absolutely rapid and wasn’t surprised to see Lotus re-sign him the following day.

After the event me and Rory headed back into Khao San for a few scoops. I crawled in around 6am. Rory left around half 4 but he did have a taxi booked at 5 to go to the airport, rather him than me. Ended up sat with a Canadian and a couple locals until I started drifting off, home time. I am leaving Bangkok tomorrow after being here for 6 days and seeing no sights to mention bar the boxing and race of champions as well as the inside of most bars on Khao San. Next time I shall see the sights. Tomorrow I make my week long passage ending in Chiang Mai.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb