One TOO many nights in Bangkok


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 15th 2012
Saved: March 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


After the remoteness of Indonesia, Bangkok is exactly what I needed and may have been the reason things went a little over board. Bangkok is the gateway to Asia with thousands of backpackers arriving and leaving every day, so it a very easy place to meet people. It’s a bit of bizarre place as well with shops and stalls everywhere selling exotic foods and trinkets. The first days there a group of us explored the city and took the water taxi down the river and saw some incredible temples. We also went to one of the largest markets in the world; it has over 8000 stalls and took us about 45 minutes to walk from one end to the other. Unfortunately I didn’t bring my camera around that day and don’t have any pictures to show.

Its kind of sad but other than that day, all I really did in Bangkok is eat and drink with friends. There’s so much tasty street food and bars everywhere that it becomes a pretty intense party place at night. I met up with an awesome group of people and spent some good times dancing on the streets and enjoying Bangkok. The infamous “bucket”( not a glass of vodka and red bull but a full size bucket) were real dangerous and ended up getting the best of us each night. I was about ready to leave Bangkok after a few days of doing the same routine of lazing around all day eating and then drinking at night when I met another awesome crew and ended up staying another 4 days doing the exact same thing with them.

All I have to show from my 8 days in Bangkok is a few pictures of the streets and then some messy pictures of the nights out. It is a little embarrassing that I spent eight days just doing the same thing but it was truly the people that made it a blast and so hard to leave. We did do a few other cultural things like take the Tuktuks everywhere (more like race them) and we even saw a “ping pong show” (look it up), it was one of the weirdest and scariest things to witness.

After my time in Bangkok though I have some hilarious stories, great memories and many new friends. It may have been a bit long to “waste” in Bangkok but I still enjoyed every second. I’m glad to say that I have done a complete turn around and I’m in a very relaxed place and haven’t done any partying since then, I wont say where just yet, I save it for the next post


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb