Arrived !


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 13th 2006
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Bangkok this afternoon. The flight was pretty uneventful, although I did feel cheated since I slept through most of it and therefore couldn't use the personal video system! Bangkok is hot as always, and especially humid now it's rainy season. We took a taxi into town (the driver mistook my ability to state in Thai our destination for fluency and proceeded to talk to me rapidly in Thai for much of the trip - I managed to understand that it has been a big week in Bangkok due to the presence of dozens of kings, queens and heads of state for the King's 60th Accession Anniversary).

We checked in to our favourite hotel in Bangkok, the Buddy Lodge. Despite being located on the iffy Khao San Road, it's very friendly - the staff recognised me and informed me that it was my 4th stay, something I had been unaware of ! Had a nice swim in the rooftop pool watching the Sun set over Bangkok's skyline, then went for a tasty first dinner at Ton Pho restaurant, right by the Chao Phraya River. We were both struck by the extreme lack of tourists - relative to our previous visits, Bangkok is as dead as a dodo...The restaurant owners seem particularly happy to see us !!


One of the reasons we chose to stay at the BL for the first two nights is that it has air conditioning, a must to get a decent night's sleep and get over the jetlag ! Goodnight !...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 37; qc: 119; dbt: 0.1284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb