Dear Mom,


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 15th 2011
Published: June 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Aerobics in the Park! 39 secs
2: Rain Falls! 12 secs
DSCN1648DSCN1648DSCN1648

Before aerobics....
Not to be redundant, but the differences in visible poverty between Thailand and India were reinforced this morning: I found a 1/2 baat on the ground on the way to work. I found one last week as well, and I have racked up three 1/4 baat pieces. I'm sure Jerry Hembd would not see this as an indicator of socioeconomic status in Bangkok, but I do. There were no coins to be found on the streets in India. The children dancing through traffic day and night wouldn't let one rupee drop in the gutter. I still wonder what the state of that nation would be like if it had always been The Republic of India and never had a history as British India. Without having to regain independance and learn to rule themselves after 73 years, perhaps the India could have maintained traditional governmental and social organization, characteristic acceptance for cultural diversity, and distinctive morals and values of the religious society prevalent in ancient and medieval times. Sorry, that sounds like a thesis statement, but I've been thinking about it a lot.
Anyways, I went to aerobics again last night. I always have fun there, and I find it easy to
DSCN1649DSCN1649DSCN1649

FLower:)
imagine that you and I are doing it together, like we exercised the summer before last. I feel like I'm in the Jillian video when I'm there. There's always someone on the high box showing the moves for the greatest calorie burn-- the Natalie; someone with a microphone counting and giving encouragment ( I don't know what she's encouraging me to do because she speaks Thai)--the Jillian; and a row of expert aerobic-doers modifying the dance moves in the front--the Anita. The first day I tried aerobics, I was remembering the first day we attempted The Firm; we couldn't even do it because we were laughing so hard. I was remembering because I was surprised at my ability to pick up the moves the Thais were doing. Good thing I practiced The Firm and Core Rhythms; and good thing I have "good-jumper" genes from you!
I always have to get there about 5 minutes early so I can find a spot to stand. There are a lot of people there, A LOT. ITs easier to see than to explain the enormity of this exercise outing; thus, I made a video of my time in the park (and the rain). So
DSCN1650DSCN1650DSCN1650

All in green. I think they got those T-shirts through a public exercise initiative. Something we should implement in the States I think.
this blog is EXTRA special today😊 I'll be thinking of you tonight when I'm doing toe-taps and sunshines!
Until we meet again,
Amy


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

DSCN1653DSCN1653
DSCN1653

They play good old 90's songs and techno mostly; its easy to get into.
DSCN1654DSCN1654
DSCN1654

There's only one set of steps I can't do and I think it is a traditional Thai dance or something, because no else seems to have a problem.
DSCN1655DSCN1655
DSCN1655

People actually use the park. How nice!
DSCN1659DSCN1659
DSCN1659

Found a better alternative to reading the master's thesis on my project: propping open my garbage can while I peel rambutans!
DSCN1660DSCN1660
DSCN1660

Grape like texture with a nut in it. My PI couldn't beleive we ate the nuts. Thats what Michelle told us to do when we first got here....I think it tastes like an almond. I like these a lot better than mangosteins, lychee, or sala. I think I'm allergic to sala though haha


16th June 2011

"I Love aerobics" It's a great way to get in the best shape of your life!
27th June 2011

Thanks!
Way to make a video and upload aerobics pictures. I love it!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb