Travelling East


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 11th 2011
Published: May 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My Indochina Journey


I arrived in Bangkok on Sunday after a pretty uneventful flight, during my flight a bit of reading told me the best way to get to Koh San Road undoubtedly backpackers haven was by the airport express bus (150bht) taking around an hour sprawling through Bangkok's traffic mayhem. First impression the smells, people and food was that it is very similar to most Asian cities however the longer I'm here I think different.

Getting settled was fine, splashed out for a hotel for a couple of nights so I could get rid of the jet lag which hit me like a brick wall once ! saw the bed! I slept most of Sunday but when I eventually I hit the town for some of that famous Thai food! Green Curry and Fish Curry great! washed down with a Singha to take the edge of the spicy kick. (35bht for the food 60bht for the beer) After dinner I got chatting to a bunch of Thai's visiting Bangkok from Phuket were they work for a European tour operator!! Managed to get them drunk playing a few drinking games which lasted until 2am!

My second day involved a hell of a lot of walking and I found out how far Koh San Road is from the city center. I got lost a few times as Bangkok is unbelievably hard to navigate but also I toured around the many temples, shrines and general Bangkokian madness. China Town (Yarowat) is fantastic much better that KL and that one was good!! They cook anything from Birdnest soup to Toads on a stick all for a great price.

In the city center you have many western brands, huge shopping malls and cosmopolitan vibe that all great cities have all so close to the regional sectors of the Bangkok which gives a great contrast from a viewing perspective. However, what is city wide is the shear nagging selling call it what you like!! everything and anything is a chance to sell especially to a westerner!! I can't even stop to check my map without being bugged! Or even charged to show me where I was on a map!! (I refused to pay him)

In the evening I went over to Patpong!! And saw what Bangkok is famous for! Go-go bars, Ladyboyz's and "massages" It was great to see and the Night Bazzar was good fun aswell! Plenty of tourists around and you felt very safe. Hit the bed after a Tuk Tuk ride home with my feet killing me!

Today, found a hostel called Green House, just off Koh San Road and managed to get a single room for 290baht which is a bargain! After a Maccy D's breakfast (Very Asian!!!) I made my way to the Embassy of Vietnam to arrange my visa! very quick and no questions asked however 2300bht!! (51pounds) now I know why you had to email for a quote as there are no prices on the consulate website.

This afternoon I was trying desperately to escape the heat and humidity by walking in every shopping mall along Rama 1. I was thinking when I bought a Thai Chai there is an almighty storm brewing!! For sure there was right as I was doing some more exploring around China Town. When it rains it pores and that was my luck along with it! I searched for nearly 45 minutes for a Tuk Tuk to take me back to Koh San after being bugged at almost every corner an hour earlier!! I was drenched down to the boxer shorts!

So, my next quest I'm not sure about! I was going to Pattaya however I've heard some horror stories so maybe thinking go straight to Siem Reap! unless something else happens. Tomorrow! foot massage and cocktails at the sky bar!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb