PANCAKES ARE THE ANSWER


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 16th 2011
Published: March 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I wasn't expecting Andy to be feeling his best when he woke up that morning. What did wake up was a broken man. We went for breakfast and I watched him struggle through his eggs on toast. His eyes looked like someone had punched him.
I didn't want to loose the whole day just because Andy had a hangover so I dragged him to some markets - well it serves him right!

A while later we were in search of a pancake stall. Apparently this was the one thing that would make him feel better. Normally you can't move 100 meters without finding a pancake stall, but it was just typical that this day there were none. After 45 minutes wandering we finally found one. Andy took one look and said "I don't think a can" He then spent some time staring at them before saying "Ok I'll give it a go" - oh Andy you're such a trooper - it didn't look like he found it too much trouble.
Pancake finished it was quite clear that Andy had well and truly had enough. We went back to the room so Andy could cool down in the air con.

After a couple of hours I managed to peel him from the bed and we found a street stall to eat dinner. I couldn't convince Andy to have a beer: In fact the very mention of the word sent shivers down his spine. As soon as dinner was paid for he was dashing back to the comfort of our air conditioned room.

Andy was feeling back to normal when he finally woke up. After breakfast it was more markets. I was looking for some trousers because without them I wouldn't be able to visit any temples.

We waked over the Khlong Banglamphu to find another market but we couldn't find what we were looking for so we stopped for refreshment. Only after we had been served our drinks did I point out to Andy what sort of place we were in. Its funny to think that the only reason Andy went in to a vegetarian organic restaurant is because the beer was cheap.

After some more looking we stopped for lunch at a Chinese restaurant. Andy enjoyed the crispiest crispy roast pork and I had a great clear seafood wanton soup. With water the bill was just £4.

In the evening we went back to our favourite cocktail bar and after a few drinks we had chicken and cashew nuts and bbq pork ribs. Our intention was to stay out for a few more drinks, but I had a funny turn and had to go back to the room. Maybe next time I won't mix up the cocktails so much!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb