Day 4


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 5th 2011
Published: March 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I got into a temple!! Not just an ordinary temple but the Kings temple! Tourists are only usually allowed in the outside area and smaller buildings rather then the main shrine due to the way we dress. I was being followed around by this guy I at first thought of as just temple security. Eventually he came up to me and said that I was allowed to go in AND take photos which I hadnt been able to take in the smaller buildings due to people praying. He told me to leave my shoes outside and to never point my feet directly at the statue, a surprisly difficult thing to do. Inside was immensly overpowering, the entire feel to it was solem and calm, I sat with my feet firmly underneath me and just stared at the monument for a good 15mins, absorbing the entire atmosphere. It is beautifly decorated. Also where I sat postioned myself between two huge fans which was extremely refreshing as it's 34degrees today.
For my last day in Bangkok I thought I would treat myself to a boat ride. It's a very touristy thing to do but it's so beautiful, the boat takes you through all the canals round the subburbs and temples of the area. I also saw two moniter lizards, HUGE ones, staring in from the side of the canal. As soon as I get to koh tao i'll try to get the pictures uploaded somehow, it's been 4 days and I'm already at over 100 photos.
I also may have accidently managed to get a tok tok ride for free as he didn't ask for money n I just kinda walked off. Tok Toks are those litte vehicles that are pretty much a carridge attached to a bike with a roof on. Really fun, very cheap and you get a good breeze in you face as your driving along.
Right i'm off to repack my things now as I'm getting picked up in a hour n I havn't eaten anything yet!

Advertisement



5th March 2011

wow
That's amazing!!! what a way to finish your stay int the city. So looking forward to the pictures. Safe trip. Xxx
6th March 2011

Hey :)
Hey Ellie, It looks like you're having an amazing time. Only you could get into the Kings Temple!!! I hope you have the most amazing time and keep us posted on how it goes :). Christine xx

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb