Farewell to Krabi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 1st 2006
Published: May 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday we went to Koh Phi Phi on the big fast mother of a speed boat with 3 engines and comfortably sat 30 pax. We dont usually like doing the tourist thing but you got to jump off the boat now and again at some very lovely spots and have a snorkel. Obviously some places are better than others due to visibility and what there is to see but for a novice like me its all great as there are loads of fish, the corals were bright and the sea far too warm really. For those of you who have see the Movie the Beach with Leonardo we went to Maya Beach as its become a huge tourist sight - every 18 year old wants to see it. Of all the beaches that I have been on this was the most unremarkable and small but I suppose its amazing what they can do with film. I think I will have to see the movie now. We stopped on Koh Phi-Phi for lunch which was at a restaurant buffet style on the waters edge. It was tasty and catered to farang tastes - not to hot and spicey!! AFter lunch we had time to have a walk around and wonder at how quickly the Thais have managed to get their lives back after the devestating Tsunami where over 2,000 (yes I mean 2,000) people died right on the steps we were taking. When you look at the tranquil blue seas like you see in the postcards (sorry none of you are getting any of those!!!) its hard to imagine all the death and destruction and that it came from nowhere and silently by surprise. These people had no warning and because of the shape of Phi-Phi - a barbell with the Cape Flats in the middle there was no mountain near to run up and escape.

We really enjoyed the day out. Our last day we sat by the beach at our favourite cafe the Last Cafe under the Mountain cliffs that rise straight out of the water half covered in jungle and where if you are lucky you will see the monkeys come and play at sunset and read my book. As a treat I decided to have a massage with one of the 20 massage pavillionson the beach. You walk past them on the way to the cafe. The ladies all imploring you to have a massage with them. 200Baht for one hour that is R40.00. It was a great way to spend the afternoon as the ladies whilst waiting for customers all talk amongst themselves the breeze from the beach keeps everything cool and the view is great. (Dont worry Sandra I still will be coming back to you and will phone you when I get home I promise!) But friends if you have the chance to come to Thailand this part of it is so enchanting and of course the people really friendly.

This morning we had our breakfast meusl and fruitsalad with yoghurt and then the hotels shuttle took us to the airport and 1,2,3 we were back in bustling Bangkok. Trying to organise my bags and prepare for the flight home on Thursday. I always look forward to come home but half of me wants to stay a little bit longer but my poor body is suffering the effects of the tropics - you know bites that appear from nowhere the itches and stuff and of course the heat and humidity. If something exciting happens in the next two days that I have not told you about I will write but I am sure its going to be the usual stuff of heading down the river by boat, on the skytrain to the siam centre and look around the huge shopping malls. Take care everyone till later ...Lee

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb