Bangkok, Nonthaburi & the Mahachai Railway (2010 - 2011)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 31st 2010
Published: January 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 31st December 2010


I had been contemplating to do a railway trip from Bangkok ever since we took the Death Railway journey during our holidays in Kanchanaburi 4 years ago. Back in December 2004, I had a chance to complete a 12-hour overnight journey to Chiang Mai as part of my University cultural exchange programme. I always cherished the fond memories of those train trips. This was not just in Thailand, but across the countries I had visited.

This trip is about my affection with trains. It started off with a journey on Bangkok's BTS Skytrain and the MRT network. This was followed by a visit to the Railway Museum in Chatuchak Park (aka the Thailand Railway Hall of Fame). There were other opportunites for me to experience a 4-hour train ride on the Mahachai Railway line from WongWian Yai Station in Bangkok. Finally, we rode on the newly opened Suvarnabhumi Airport Railink which provided yet another affordable option for us to commute between the city and the airport.

Of course, no journeys in Bangkok would be completed without some authentic Thai dishes and some soothing foot massage after a long day on the road. I'm certainly glad with the new travel experiences even though this was my 4th time in the Thai Capital.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 77; dbt: 0.2087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb