Off to the Islands


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 31st 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys, so we are off to Koh Samui this morning to do a bit of Island hopping. This week has flown by. We ventured out to the big weekend market. It is completely overwhelming in good ways and bad. Anything can be had for a price here as you work your way through a tangled mob of over 15,000 vendors and stalls. Brings to mind the cats and rats and elephant song of my youth. Any pet you can imagine can be had there, from colored dogs (pink purple) to monkeys and spiders. I've discovered the way to keep Kristy awake is shoes and nails. Perhaps the princess moniker was dead on. We have covered a few miles, but a relative drop in the bucket. Yesterday was a hot humid day and after I led Kristy (actually Kristy did the directions, as anyone who knows me knows I am directionally challenged) out of a brisk 2 or 3 hour walk through Wats and winding streets we were ready for a rest, or at least one of us was. I headed out on an excursion to find new reading materials for the island. Used bookstores abound in the Khao San road area as the backpackers seek companionship for the long boat, bus and train rides along the way. On returning we decided to take the river taxi to the Grand Palace. I was strong and avoided all the touts and scams you are warned about, you know the ones, they tell you the event is closed, but they can take you out on tours for 10 baht which turn into unknown adventures in their pals shops. I was determined not to let them fool me again. Fool me once....you know. After much sweat and arguing with the touts we arrived at the main gates, only to find out it really was closed....at 3:30, and it was now 3:35. What! So fool me once. So, back on the boat. I went out afterwards and found a little side place called "Really Nice Thai Food". Had the most amazing curry for 20 baht. Burned my face off! Kristy retired early and missed the flood in the streets. The street that we are on turned into a raging river filled with lost shoes, chairs tables and umbrellas for hours. There were about 20 of us stranded in a bar standing on our stools to avoid the filthy water that was raging around out feet. The worst was the water flushes out the cockroaches and other unknown bugs who begin frantically running up any dry spot they can find which includes legs....ahhhh. There was a lot of screaming going on. The thunder was intense which also brought rounds of screams. When it subsided enough for an escape I ran to the hotel only to find the lobby under water....serious. Got up to the room where I found Kristy huddled away from the thunder, I think it might have scared her a wee bit. But this morning has dawned hot and sunny for our trip to the beach. I am posting a few pics in no particular order, but some anyway. Hope all is well and we will talk again soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



1st September 2009

keep having a good time, and quit going out alone. MOM
8th September 2009

way to Go Monique and Kristie
Enjoy reading about your adventures ,keep them coming

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb