Finished!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 26th 2009
Published: July 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I'll keep this entry short. I flew from Luang Prabang to Bangkok early in the morning after one last hurrah at the famous bowling alley. Once in Bangkok I met up with my friend Kenneth's mom who lives in Bangkok. She took me out for an amazing buffet lunch at the intercontinental hotel. I don't eat much fish but this was the best sushi I have ever had...plus the dessert buffet wasn't too shabby either. She then took me around Bangkok to the river, on the skytrain, to a Buddhist statue...about as much Bangkok you could see in one afternoon.

After a short nap and regroup we went for a Thai massage. Now I had already had a Khmer massage and a Lao massage so I didn't know what to expect. Basically with Thai massages they work on your legs a lot and they use their feet a fair bit. Again it was part chiropractor, part stretching, part massage, part pain. After two hours of that she took me to see the famous Bangkok red light district of Patpong. Now there's an interesting place. Not quite my cup of tea and just a little different from Laos, where I was the day before. Nonetheless, if you come to Bangkok you have to at least see Patpong (although I didn't experience it). From there we headed to a night bazaar for a last bit of shopping. Believe it or not I had a couple of gifts I still needed to buy.

I headed back to her place, exhausted. I got to the airport the next morning about an hour and a half before my flight only to discover that the flight I was supposed to be on did not exist anymore and I hadn't been informed. I had to wait around a little longer but eventually I made it to Hong Kong then to Vanvcouver and finally back to Victoria. The cool part is that from Hong Kong to Vancouver you get in before you left because of the time change, so jet lag isn't really an issue as your day technically "didn't exist".

Well now I am back in Victoria for a couple of days before rushing off to Bamfield on the west coast of the island for another 6 week biology course. I hope you enjoyed my blog as much as I enjoyed writing it. To be honest I wrote it mainly for myself to remember all of the amazing experiences that I had over the last two and a half months. From diving some of the top places in the world to climbing mountains, rocks, waterfalls, trees etc. to jumping from ecosystem to ecosystem getting a crash course in each to eating anything and everything, it seems like I did it all....

The best part is that I did so little of all I could do in SE Asia that I will definitely need to return to check a few more things off of the list.

Thanks for reading!

-Josh

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb