From Bangkok to Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Thailand! My 24 hour trip landed me in Bangkok Sat. eve! I started off Sun. morning by walking to the Grand Palace and a famous temple called Wat Phra Kaeo (a.k.a. Temple of the Emerald Buddah). Luckily, I escaped the touts outside the hotel/tourist area who were trying to convince me to go somewhere else instead! Anyway, the Palace and the Temple were awesome. Seeing these places made me excited to be in Thailand. On the other hand… it was soooooooo hot and humid in Bangkok! I generally fancy myself a “Texan with war-weather-skin” but this place is something else! That evening I met my tour group: 11 travelers (3 Australians, 4 Europeans, and 4 Americans). One of the other American girls, Katy, is my roommate. After we went to sleep that night, she woke me up yelling, “Who are you?” and I said, “What?” and then she screamed “WHO ARE YOU?” a couple of more times. I was so confused…I kept saying, “What do you mean?” Finally she calmed down and said, “oh, sorry” and went back to bed! I got a good laugh out of it the next day!
On Monday, we visited the Wat Po, Temple
Wat Phra KaeoWat Phra KaeoWat Phra Kaeo

Wat Phra Kaeo (Temple of the Emerald Buddha)
of the Reclining Buddah. I was amazed at how large it was—I knew it was going to be big, but it was much larger than I imagined (over 150 feet long and 50 feet high). We also cruised the canals of Bangkok on a traditional long tail boat and were able to see some of the “real Bangkok” where people live along the canals. Some people call this the “Old Venice”. Last, but not least, we got to ride in a Tuk Tuk, which was an entire experience in and of itself. Little motorcycle bugs that carry you around, racing among the streets!
We rode an overnight train to Chiang Mai (very nice!) and arrived in the morning. First up was the Tiger Discovery camp where we got to get inside the cages with Tigers and Lion Cubs! What can I say? It was pretty neat to see those cats up close! A few temples later, we hit the Night Bazaar Market to do a little shopping. I was exhausted and needed to get ready for a big day. Today, Richard (a tour mate) and I did an all day mountain biking expedition down the jungle/mountain nearby. I could possibly call it mud biking because it rained on us and everything got pretty slick. Richard has been warning me about “Karma” here in Thailand and that I should try to do/think good things in order to receive them in return. Well… I noticed that he wiped out in front of me and I got to laughing so hard that I had to pull over. Low and behold, I had my turn… about 10 times! I have bruises all over my legs and behind to prove it. Don’t worry, no pics! Needless to say, I’m exhausted now and about to get some sleep. Headed to Chiang Rai tomorrow for our 3 day hiking trip!



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

ShoesShoes
Shoes

Gotta take your shoes off to go inside the temple!
Grand PalaceGrand Palace
Grand Palace

Grand Palace
99
9

The Grand Palace
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Main Canal of Bangkok called Chao Phraya River
CanalCanal
Canal

Bangkok Canal
Fish SanctuaryFish Sanctuary
Fish Sanctuary

On the canal trip we stopped to feed the fish some bread
GroupGroup
Group

Our Tour Group on a Long Tail Boat
CanalCanal
Canal

Bangkok Canal
Wat PoWat Po
Wat Po

Giant Reclining Buddah is over 150 feet long.. and much bigger than he appears in the picture!
Tuk TukTuk Tuk
Tuk Tuk

We took these little "Tuk Tuk's" to China Town to eat lunch.. they were a real trip! You can't beat this experience
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Typical streets and transportation
Emerald BuddahEmerald Buddah
Emerald Buddah

Buddah Buddah Buddah


1st July 2009

pictures
Loved your biker uniform! Also, rubbing that tiger's tummy!
1st July 2009

Travelin' Jennifer!
Jennifer, Thank you for including me on your travel blog. I love hearing about all your adventures and really had to smile as you talked about your biking mishap, but glad it wasn't any worse. Have a wonderful time and always stay safe! Donna Pisani
1st July 2009

Klaus, You're livin' it up! Can't wait to see all ur pics!
1st July 2009

BUGS
Hey girl! Looks like you are having a blast. You come across some chocolate covered crawly, multi-legged, critters yet? -G
2nd July 2009

Go Girl
Hey!!! Thanks for the update. Sounds like you may have met your match with the bike. Try "Karma" for awhile.
2nd July 2009

Wow!
Love the pictures. I am living vicariously through you! Can't wait to hear more!
2nd July 2009

You always make my day!
Hi Jen, Sounds like you're having a blast. I can just hear and picture you laughing. Your roommate waking you up is too much. Have a great time! Love, Jess
6th July 2009

hahaha!!!
Laughed my butt off at the roommate story!!! As someone who has travled with you a few times, I could totally picture your expression. Still can't stop laughing - kind of like when we got the giggles when we were supposed to be praying. Sounds like you are having a great time! Keep us posted!!!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb