So I'm living in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 3rd 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The view from my apartmentThe view from my apartmentThe view from my apartment

The view from my apartment is...awesome
Living in Bangkok

As the title suggests, I now live in Bangkok. I've been here for about a week now, and if there is one thing to take away from this blog know this - it is very, I repeat very, hot here. I've basically resigned myself to sweating, which, if there is a 12-step program to dealing with heat, is probably around the one or two step level. Other than the heat, Bangkok is great - I've got a room in an apartment with a shower (fancy, I know), and tennis courts (so perhaps I will learn to not to be so awful at tennis while I am here).

Over the past week, I've met many people - most don't speak any english, and then some speak very little. I'm always happy to meet those that speak a bit, because as the saying goes, a little bit is better than none (editor's note: there is no such saying).

So what's the best part of living here? Some would think I'd say the food. You would be wrong. So wrong. So wrong that you shouldn't ever volunteer an answer again. Others would say the sights. Again, so very, very wrong. No, the best part of living here is my landlord. She has a name, or at least I think she does, but I don't know it - I just call her grandma. She is, as the name suggests, the matriarch of the apartment building, and seems to know everything there is to know about bangkok. She also worries that some food is too spicy for me, and has other grandma-like traits - making sure i've eaten, drawing directions for taxis to take me wherever I need to go, and teaching me one word of thai a day.

The thai word today? Bai Nai Kop. Some of the more observant readers will point out that this is actually a phrase, not a word. Even more observant ones will point out I haven't given the meaning. I want to take this moment to say kudos to all of you who realized this. Kudos.



Advertisement



10th June 2009

First Comment Ever = I win
I can't believe you didn't let some of the more observant readers, like myself, know what the "word (phrase) of the day" was. Very disappointed to say the least. How do you sleep when it is so hot, or do you have beautiful women fanning you at night with giant exotic feathers. That is how I would imagine things work there. Start sharing your words with us, and more pictures of your apartment, and don't try to clean it before you take them. I will know it is a sham. Have fun dude! -Tyler
15th June 2009

Hello Michael! Rachel gave me the link for your blog. Let's convince her to come to Thailand!! Maybe I can rendezvous with you guys. I like your old grandma landlord taking care of you and her teaching you thai each day. Bai Nai Kop = where are you going [polite qualifier]? By the way, you're welcome to come check out Nakhon Si Thammarat. We have an old lady living on our property too. You can call her Grandma. And shorts are even cheaper down here...

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb