Thailand: Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 27th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Air conditioned - 24hr internet cafe... so here goes!

The phuket part of my trip was incorporated into my itinerary to give me some down time between tours. My hotel is very luxurious and on arrival I am greeted with a cold drink and a refreshing hand towel - very nice.

After catching up on sleep and having a lazy evening in front of the TV, I head out in the morning and collect a bunch of leaflets from the many tour operators along the main strip. I book myself on 3 trips and allow myself alternate days at the pool. Well, don't want to over-exert myself!

Day 1 - Pool day... I sit in the sun, I swim and I read my book. The Beach, Alex Garland.

Day 2 - James Bond Island... 7.20am start followed by a 45 minute mini bus ride to the harbour. I board a traditional junk boat and find a comfy spot at the back. The water is very calm and we maintain a relaxing pace through the national park. I see nothing but fishing boats and sea eagles diving and soaring near the cliff tops while drinking strong coffee and eating thai biscuits - very civilised. Our first stop is after about 1hr 30mins and we visit a village where sea gypsies live. Their standard of living is very basic yet they have their own school, which has very good attendance reccords and looks well run and also a mosque (they are 100% muslim).

On leaving the village I saw signs that showed the evacuation route in case of another tsunami. I can imagine that this village must have been wiped out by the last one... the wooden houses would have just been washed away.

Our next stop was at James Bond island and I wished I could remember more about the film, but sadly, although it was pretty - I probably didn't enjoy it as much as the avid Bond fans did.

Back on the junk we had some lunch - green curry, fired chicken, rice, noodles and fruit. This is definitely a standard lunch offering - nice though.

Day 3 - Pool day... I sit in the sun, I swim and I continue to read my book.

Day 4 - Krabi... 7.30am pichup followed by another 45 minute drive to the harbour. Today's vehicle is a speedboat and the ride is not exactly relaxing - I am dosed up on motion sickness pills which is good, because although its not particularly bumpy my seat is inside and I can't really see out.

We have a few stops for snorkelling and at a beach near a lagoon (as used in filming for 'The Beach' - film of the book I'm reading) and I prepare myself with snorkel, mask and flippers. Then... for the first time... ever... I snorkel. I couldn't see much and I stayed in the shallows, but I did it! I even fed the fish with bread which probably contributed to the murky water but still - a giant leap towards conquering my fear of fish.

Its a very hot day and I am relieved to be back on the the boat and in the shade. Out next stop is Krabi where we have some lunch. I join a couple and her Dad to make up a four. She doesn't like any of the food so just drinks bottled water. I however am loving the food... there is delicious hot 'n' sour soup, beef massaman curry, rice, chicken with cashews and stir fried veg. Its all lovely.

After lunch we have some time to shop. I get some T-shirts, bracelets, magnets and postcards. We all get back on the boat with the exception of a French couple... we wait 40 mins but they don't arrive at the meeting point. Eventually we leave without them - we are all feeling very ill just bobbing around in the boat and one little boy isn't at all well. I give his mum a motion sickness tablet for him and I think it helped.

Our next stop was snorkelling - but it was quite deep (3meters) and I decided to stay on the boat and just fed the fish from there. Everyone who went in said it was amazing, but I've already made big progress today so I'm not disappointed. By the time I get back to the hotel I am pooped, so I grab a curry from a place near the hotel and have an early night.

Day 5 - Pool day... I sit... its overcast, I swim, finished my book and to be honest I'm a bit bored.

Day 6 - Elephant Trek... pickup is at 8.30am and we drive in a jeep up to the Siam Safari for about 30mins. Immediately on arrival there is a sense that this is a very well run facility and that the animals are their no.1 priority. We begin by getting an introduction to how the elephants are cared for and then we are off. I share my elephant with another solo traveller - this is her first time and she's a bit nervous but she soon gets into it. Its a good 40 minutes trek through natural rainforest and although it a well worn path I get the impression that the elephants quite enjoy it. Most of those at this facility used to work in construction, so carrying tourists around is a doddle.

After the trek we see a monkey collect coconuts, learn how to extract coconut milk, make coconut cream, make coconut oil (can you see the theme?) and then how to make jungle curry (yup, with coconut). Finally there is demonstration of rubber tapping - I remember this from school and its exactly the same as is drawn in detail in my exercise book.

After a quick a mediocre lunch, (standard menu) we are bundled bach into the 4WD and dropped back at out hotels. I head stratight for the pool and spend the final hours of sunshine soaking it up.

Day 7 - Pool day... I sit in the sun, I swim and I listen to am audiobook - The Coma, Alex Garland

Day 8 - Travel day... I have packed up my little bag and head back to the airport for the flight back to Bangkok. Its a lady pilot - go girl!!!

All in all my down time was indeed a down time and I am now more than ready to join a group and have more adventures....




Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb