High On Life... Or Is That Prescription Pills & Cheap Champagne?!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 6th 2009
Published: April 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to my first blog... its been a crazy 48 hours.. and I am struggling for downtime to just do nothing! Where do I even start?!

Flying High... Literally



Our adventure started bright and early Sunday morning when we flew out of Adelaide, heading for Melbourne for our 'not so cheap' Jetstar flights... I decided that I would brave the hour flight without my newly prescribed Valium so that I wasn't a zombie for the morning in Melbourne Airport... and I must say I was very brave!

Upon arrival at Melbourne, we collected our bags, walked the short distance to the International Terminal where we realised that you couldnt check in for your flight until 3 hours before... we lugged our bags to a cafe and the food fest began! Eggs Benedict for brekkie, Champagne for morning tea and Nandos wraps/chips for lunch.. Somewhere between the eggs and the bubbles we checked in... We were standing between a cute guy to our left and a rude lady to our right.... and as predicted when check in opened 'rude lady' to our right pushed past all 3 of us to be first served... even though she was BEHIND
Amelia with Mr Tuk TukAmelia with Mr Tuk TukAmelia with Mr Tuk Tuk

One of Khao San Rd's regular freaks!
us in the line! What the!!!

After we had eaten Nandos (and polished off the chips within about 60 seconds flat (champagne makes you very hungry apparently) we realised we were running late for our departure gate... we grabbed some takeaway (6 Krispy Kreme donuts and Salads) and bolted....

Once on board, the horror of what lay ahead started to sink in, so I popped HALF a valium (scaredy cat!) and settled in... the effect was pretty good.... about an hour into the flight I popped another one with some Champagne and was feeling GREAT. Amelia decided she wanted in on the action and so out came the Valium.... a couple of Valium each and a couple of Champagne's later we were both passed out snoring!

It lasted a couple of hours and then we came to.... The rest of the flight was really long and really boring... but another Valium later I was doing okay! Even as the plane landed! That stuff rocks!

Hitting the Ground Running



Once in Bangkok we organised our SIM cards and were heading for the taxi stand when we ran into cute boy from Melbourne Airport... he
Welcome to Thailand....Welcome to Thailand....Welcome to Thailand....

Introducing the 3 Virgins to the good ole Thai Bucket!
asked us if we knew where the shuttle bus left from.. I asked him where he wanted to go, and when he said Khao San Rd I offered him a ride in our taxi... Once we got to Khao San we left him, and told him we would be at Gullivers a bit later for drinks if he wanted to come out...

When organising my trip I found out that an old school mate, Bobby, who I hadn't seen in 20 years was going to be in Bangkok that night.. we had arranged to catch up for drinks.. lucky for adreneline we were ready to go even though it was now 1am Oz time and we had been up since 4.30am!!

We checked in at the Guesthouse and headed to Gullivers where we met Bobby. About 20 minutes later our cute airport guy aka our new friend (Andrew from England) arrived and the night really kicked on.... I introduced the 3 Thailand Virgins to 'buckets' and cheap cocktails...

On the way back to our guesthouse we decided we needed more food (seeing a pattern here?!) ... we found the only open restaurant and ordered up on some
Old Mates!Old Mates!Old Mates!

Hanging with my mate Bobby who I havent seen in 20 years
fries and garlic bread (the only two things they could apparently cook at that time of the night!)... while we were waiting for our food, these two creepy guys came over and asked to sit down with us.. not wanting to be rude we said ok.... one was carrying one of those 'tobacco bongs' and was smoking apple out of it... weird.. even in my eyes! They were being soooo sleazy... one was saying to me in a strong European accent "do you not like me?! dont you want to be my friend?!"... I grabbed Amelia and we did an absolute runner down the street... forgetting all about our food (unpaid food!)... Hope they lumped creepy guy with the bill!! LOL ... and now everytime we walk past the restaurant we are paranoid that someone is going to come running out screaming that we 'no pay'... Our pace definitely quickens at that point of the alleyway!! :-)

I don't remember what time we finished up, but I woke up in bed with Amelia naked (apart from a g-string) on my side of the bed, me almost on the floor and chips (as in potato crisps) crushed all over Amelias
And New Mates....And New Mates....And New Mates....

Amelia and our cute airport guy Andrew!
side of the bed.... LOL BIG NIGHT!!

Hangovers, tuktuks and FOOD



The morning dawned with what could only be described as painful... somewhere through the haze of our hangovers we dragged ourselves downstairs, consumed a big breakfast of fruit shakes, eggs & bacon, dragged ourselves back up the stairs before passing out again! We woke up about lunchtime again and both wondered if the whole breakfast thing was just a strange dream or it had even happened.. I swear we were sleep walking (and eating)!

We forced ourselves to get out of the room and decided to go to my favourite restaurant Roti Mataba... a short 5 minute walk in the rain later we discovered it shut... we kept walking and found ourselves at Changs shop (my friend Tong's husband). He told us that most small places were shut as it was a public holiday... we found ourselves a tuk tuk and headed to Siam Paragon (a massive air conditioned mall with a great food court)... Once there we pigged out (me going back for 2nds) and got icecreams before finding another tuktuk and heading back to our guesthouse... on the way we stopped for our first foot massages (1 hour = 220 baht $9AUD) which were the most painful thing I have ever felt but left us feeling very relaxed...

We went back to the guesthouse, freshened up and then caught another tuktuk to Suan Lum Night Bazaar. By this stage we were walking zombies... we ordered some of my favourite deep fried chicken along with rice, a deep fried sea bass with garlic and curry squid. All this cost us 620 baht (about $24AUD). We got a jug of frozen Margaritas to wash it all down then did some window shopping in the Night Market. At one of the stalls I even got to sample some Squid Jerky just for Chelle... but no photos! Oops! I promise to try it again for you Chelle!

Afterwards we caught another tuktuk back to Khao San Road, wandered down taking in the whole craziness of the place before meeting my friend Nok and her fiancee Terry. Nok is the friend whose wedding we will be attending later this month... completely stuff by this stage (it was now 11.30pm), and knowing we had to be up at 5.30am for a tour we had one drink then called it a night.... we both slept like babies last night!

Anyway this is longer than what I thought it would be so I will wind it up now and get some photos on the computer... we have just got home from a tour with Jerry (one of my friend Tong's guides) and have had an amazing day.. we are running on empty but determined to see more tonight (we leave Bangkok tomorrow night)... Stay tuned for more! When I have the energy I will update.... but right now I need an hour oil massage and a night out in Patpong!

Love to you all (yes Jen I promise I am looking after Milly!!)

Reet and Milly
xxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



7th April 2009

Sounds like a big first few days
Sounds like a big first few days, I still love reading your travel blog and am looking forward to the next installment. Take care, R
7th April 2009

Squid Jerky!!!
so how did the jerky taste?? lol ...... glad to see you have introduced milly to the important things like food and buckets! Wishing I was there.. enjoy girls! xx
8th April 2009

sounds like you are making the absolute most of every moment! good on you girl, have a ball... and go shopping!!!
8th April 2009

Keep them Coming!!!
Reet your blogs are such fun , I feel I am on holidays again! Looking forward to your next chapter, just sace lots of time to have fun. Luv Lindy XX
8th April 2009

I'm a food & drinks slut too!
I was laughing - Matt got the 3rd degree by the Bali Police about his Valium as its a NARCOTIC - now you you know how I felt on 20mg of accidental valium + shit stoppers ... scary but funny looking back! We're on our last day - sitting on the TUNE free computer (haven't had the net for 5 days!) after having 3 lunches 1 hour apart - the last where we became the side show as the only foreigners! We had Jerry - I love him - such a great guide. HAVE FUN YOU GUYS! xxxx's from Narelle
8th April 2009

Eat sleep drink !
Wow im tired just reading all that, you have really hit the ground running. So much eating, drinking.... Watch out for sleazy guys like that reet, as drink spiking or being thier mule for some parcels could be on thier minds, take care girls.......

Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 121; dbt: 0.1875s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb