A weekend visit to Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 21st 2008
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

After 3 months of living in rural Thailand it was a shock to my system returning to bustling Bangkok, I felt like a fish out of water. It was strange to see so many foreigners and have locals speaking to me in English. After an 8 hour overnight bus ride from Mae Sot I arrived in Bangkok early Saturday morning to meet Matt who had come from Australia to spend Christmas and New Years with me. Besides being overwhelmed by the pollution, traffic, noise and high rise buildings it was a great chance for me to do some shopping.

We spent Saturday at Chatachuk Weekend market where everything imaginable for sale is available. There is a plethora of clothing stalls and it is a market shopper’s dream. In the evening we went to Vientiane Kitchen which has an extensive menu of northern Thai cuisine and local bands play tunes from the Isan province. By sheer luck we were able to see my friend from England, John and his brother who I hadn’t seen for 5 years the one night I had in Bangkok. On Sunday it was some more shopping at Mahboonkrong (MBK), Bangkok’s biggest indoor market before leaving for Mae Sot.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb