Hands free in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 24th 2005
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chatuchak weekend marketChatuchak weekend marketChatuchak weekend market

shoppers looking at puppies
I was told that some people travel to another country without carrying a bag. Everything they need will be purchased when they reach the destination.

That's cool. So I tried it out when I went to Bangkok on 24 Dec. 2005. I only carried a waist pouch with these things inside: spare specs, medicine, a small 6”x6” towel, disposable underwear, notebook, map, and passport.

24/12/2005 Morning
I departed home at 5:30am, drove alone to Kuala Lumpur Internation Airport, parked in Airport car park (cost me RM160.00 by the time I came back 3 days later), checked in 2 hours beforehand. There was a huge crowd of passengers queued up mainly at AirAsia counters, but luckily there was a counter for those without baggage.

24/12/2005 Afternoon
Touched down at Don Muang Int. Airport after 2 hours flight. No fuss in immigration and custom clearance. Took a few Bangkok map at the lobby. Asked for direction of airport bus counter, and was told by a forex employee the wrong direction. The ticket counter was at the LEFT (not right) after going out through the main entrance.

The fair was 100B for route A2 to Khao San Rd. A few
Soi RambutriSoi RambutriSoi Rambutri

I stayed in a simple Gecko Guest House
backpackers were already sitting at the waiting area. In half an hours time we were on the highway heading to downtown. Once exit the highway, we were in the traffic jam. It was a slow crawl, but no standstill like what I heard back home ('Bangkok drivers park their cars on highway!'). Lots of time to watch the Bangkok street life through window glass - fascinating for a curious newcomer like me.

The A2 bus made a last stop at Chakra Pong Rd. Since I already saw the road sign of Soi Rambutri from the bus, I headed straight there after alighting. No sense of getting lost.

I explored Soi Rambutri, stopped in front of a guest house and enquired the room rate. "150 baht per night." The land lady allowed me to have a look at the room before confirmation. The room has two iron beds and one bedside table, and was clean. No need to see other guest houses for comparison.

I lost no time to ask for the bus number to Chatuchak Market. Bus no. 3 went from Phra Athit Rd to Chatuchak on one single trip. I did not understand what the conductor said about the bus fare, and the inn keeper had told me it was something like 7B, so I gave 10B but the conductor 'kindly' declined. Later I found out on the return trip that it was 16B.

Despite my fear that I might miss the market, the huge crowd near the area made it unmistakably. It was 4pm- ample time to get loss in the labyrinth of stalls in this biggest weekend market in southeast asia. Instead of rubbing shoulder with tourist in Khao San and Rambutri, here I had close encounter with local Thais. Dalmatians, Siamese cats, samurai swords, koi fish pond, M16 rifle's bayonet, etc stood out among Hello Kitty t-shirts and pottery products.

I took the same no.3 bus back to Cakra Pong Rd. It was 7pm. I bought one pair of shorts for night sleep in a department store; ate beef noodles; checked email next door in an internet café; ate fried prawn mee again. Khao San Rd was now jam packed with people in the Christmas eve. No Santa Claus here, but his hat was found on the heads of many a waiter or waitress in the roadside bars and cafes. Sexy girls with tight fitting suit were dancing to loud music on makeshift stage to promote some health drinks. The disco tune had attracted some members of the crowd to street-dance. Westerner tourists were looking curiously at the heaps of deep-fried grasshoppers and beetles worms; someone ventured to eat and jokingly exclaimed: “Ahhh, I will died tomorrow!”. Smiles were on many faces of colour black, white and yellow- United Nation indeed.

I retired early, but couldn’t sleep well amidst loud street music played until dawn on this Christmas night.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 978.8kb