Last night in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 12th 2006
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last night was the hottest yet so didn't sleep much in my cheapie room with fan but no air-con. As luck would have it I have a different room tonight & air-con - wahey. I'm sure there's no much sympathy from my freezing British chums 😉
I have made arrangements to travel tomorrow to Ayuthaya (meaning invincible) which is an old capital that Burmese invaded in the 18th century just to prove them wrong! Loads more Buddhas no doubt, but these will be in ruins or decapitated. Travelling overnight Friday on a sleeper train (it better had be or I want a refund!) to Chiang Mai where I'll do the tourist trek & get to ride an elephant and stay in a hut in a local village. Monday I'm flying down to Phuket cos it's a hell of a long way from Chiang Mai. Hopefully next week I can relax on the beaches. I think I'll need a rest!
Four days in Bangkok is quite enough for now. It's an assault on the senses, especially the nose. Had several boat trips today on the local bus-type boats which are cheap & fab. Good to get away from the smelly streets. Went to riverside, LP-recommended place for lunch which was lovely. I ordered a green thai curry. It contained these strange looking green round veggie things (like mini-melons) that looked harmless but nearly sent me into orbit when I ate one. OMG!!! Was going to go to elephant museum and King's residence, but as I overslept this morning I didn't make it in time for the 3pm closing. Doh!
If you do every come to Thailand beware the respectable looking guys who approach you for a chat....they hope to either get you in a tuk-tuk or to get your travel tickets organised. They'll even tell you that where your going is closed...eg. the Grand Palace. Don't believe a word of it!!
Dreading trying to cram everything back into my back-pack. Had best put a couple of hours aside 😉.
In case you don't hear from me until next week, fear not. I will be back. xx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb