New Year's in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 1st 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Scottie-B arrivesScottie-B arrivesScottie-B arrives

I meet up with Scott from NYC...first familiar face I have seen in over 6 months!
As predicted (and told by many other travelers), the bus trip from Siem Reap to Bangkok was filled with disasters. First, the bus scheduled to leave at 8:30 does not leave until almost 10am. So myself, along with 30 others are left to stand next to the highway for 1.5 hours waiting for the bus to arrive. When it finally comes, it is a beat-up jelopy that is so uncomfortable and un-airconditioned (even though we all paid for the aircon bus). The 5 hour journey to the Thai border is a bumpy, dusty road that plays havoc with my lower back. But I endure the trip and make it to the border. I am able to jump the 45-minute Thai imigration line (in the blazing sun) as Orly and Shiri are at the front of the line and wave me up. Sweeeeet! All of the travelers are hearded together to get on buses to Bangkok (about a 5 hour ddrive). The first ones through the imigration are placed on a 9-person mini bus. I try to get on it by making my own sticker (using my duct tape....long story) but I end up telling the truth and letting the mini bus
Me and the PoliceMe and the PoliceMe and the Police

During our ride back to Khoa San Road, I jump out and Scottie snaps this photo for me. Hey, fun thing to do at a red light.
leave because I am told another will leave in just a few minutes. But, oh no!!! Instead of a mini bus, they want to put the rest of the people on a large bus...which is not a problem until we find out the large bus is 2 hours away!!!!!

Ugh.....the bus finally arrives and we all board it....and 5 hours later I am back in Bangkok. I head immediately to the Rambuttri Village Inn, grab a room and a shower, and then head for some drinks on Khao San Road. I contact Scottie B (my friend from NYC who has flown in for NYE in Bangkok) and plan a meet. We have some dinner and a few drinks before calling it a night.

I take it easy during the day of the 30th as I'm sure the upcoming NYE will be long. I do a bit of shopping, get a shave and a massage, and grab some food on Khoa San Road. That night Scottie and I take in the evening bazaar for dinner. We make it an early night so we can rest-up for New Year's Eve which I am sure will be a long night.
Outdoor BazaarOutdoor BazaarOutdoor Bazaar

Scottie and I go to the Suan Lum outdoor bazaar and grab some food. As the hour was late, there was no more beer to be had so I bummed drink off of these guys who then took a photo with me.

My New Year's Eve begins with drinks at Nana Plaza with the UK guys from Sihanoukville, Cambodia. After a few drinks, we head to Royal City Avenue where they are lots of swanky outdoor lounges for some more drinks. I leave them and their Thai women and head back to Khao San Road to ring in the New Year. Of course the area is jammed pack but I find a table of nice Thais who invite me to drink with them. As 2006 approaches, who comes up to the table but none other than Orly and Shiri! Perfect! We ring in the New Year with lots of cheers and shouts.

I wake the next morning at 8am to catch the Giants beat Oakland on ESPN to win the NFC East Division (the New Year is off to a good start). I then shake off my hangover, and prepare for my overnight bus trip down to Koh Phi Phi.

It was great to be back in Bangkok...which has become my second home here in SE Asia as I have been here now three times.....but I am a bit sad as I know I will be back in 9 days
Outdoor Bazaar tasty delightsOutdoor Bazaar tasty delightsOutdoor Bazaar tasty delights

Here we find some of the good food available at the outdoor night bazaar.
as my flight to South Africa will go through Bangkok (and I have to visit the Embassy to have pages added to my passport)....and that will mark then end to the Asia portion of my R-T-W journey.

But I am all smiles as the Thai islands and some great scuba diving await me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Gang at NanaGang at Nana
Gang at Nana

I meet up my UK friends from Sihanoukville, Cambodia and we grab a few drinks at Nana Plaza in the early hours before NYE.
New Year's Eve gownsNew Year's Eve gowns
New Year's Eve gowns

Not sure if these outfits would work in NYC but they were par the course here in Bangkok for New Years.
She-MaleShe-Male
She-Male

This once-a-man-now-a-woman poses outside a club in Nana Plaza.
Royal City AvenueRoyal City Avenue
Royal City Avenue

The UK gang and their Thai women pose at our table in one of the many outdoor lounges that make up the RCA. As you can see, Phalen is a bit too happy when the scotch arrives.
Working Girl..not that kindWorking Girl..not that kind
Working Girl..not that kind

I pose with one of the Piper sales people who have a stand set up in RCA.
All on a scooterAll on a scooter
All on a scooter

During my cab ride back to Koh San Road, I had to take this picture as the dog in the basket up front looked so scared.
Revelers on Khao San RoadRevelers on Khao San Road
Revelers on Khao San Road

The street is packed at 11:00pm as all await the New Year.
Local StyleLocal Style
Local Style

I join a table of Thai's at a Khao San Road bar to ring in the New Year.
Overflowing with JoyOverflowing with Joy
Overflowing with Joy

The bar is jammed tight and so is Khao San Road as the clock reaches 11:59pm on Dec. 31st, 2005.
JubilationJubilation
Jubilation

2006 starts off with a bang in Bangkok as I am joined by my Israeli friend Orly who I have seen all over SE Asia.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb