Going to Koh Samui on Friday


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 14th 2005
Published: December 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Pic of the hot tub at the Asia Hotel BangkokPic of the hot tub at the Asia Hotel BangkokPic of the hot tub at the Asia Hotel Bangkok

I have met some nice people here!
I went to a travel agency yesterday and made my travel plans to Koh Samui. I am taking a bus and ferry from Bangkok to Koh Samui for under $25. The air fare would be over $100. I figured I would give the bus and ferry combo to see how it goes. On Koh Samui I am renting a private bungalow for about $65 a night on average, since the price goes up about $10 on December 20th which is the beginning of the high season. There also is a surcharge for the holiday week. The total cost for the bungalow, breakfast included, and transportation to and from is under $70 a day. Not too bad for a week on the second most desirable island in the world per MSNBC Travel page and Island Magazine. I enjoyed myself last year and hope to repeat the experience again.



I also asked the same the same travel agent to book me to Chang Mai and Chang Rai. I will go there for about 10 days direct from Koh Samui. I have heard that it is very beautiful there. Chang Mai is Thailand's second largest city but supposedly much "easier" than
Pic of the pool at the Asia Hotel BangkokPic of the pool at the Asia Hotel BangkokPic of the pool at the Asia Hotel Bangkok

Nice to go for a dip after sitting in the hot tub!
Bangkok. It's in the mountains so the temps are a little cooler. (It gets into the upper 80's during the day here in Bangkok.) I'm looking forward to this especially.



After I made the travel plans, I went to lunch at this little stand that I have frequented several times. The food is good and reasonable (about $2 for soup, chicken, and a banana shake). I will have to take a pic of it and post it here. It's very basic but good. I choose restaurants based on how busy they are assuming that means that the food is good. Hasn't failed me yet.



After lunch I went on a walking tour from my Lonely Planet guide of Bangkok. The guide gave a map and directions and told the history of the various landmarks in the area. I found it very enjoyable. It got me to see some things I normally would not have seen. If I have time today I will go on another walking tour of Chinatown from the same guide book.



I received a comment from a Thai that read my blog taking me to task for being glad to be an American after seeing my friend's Thai home. I apologize for any ill feelings my posting caused. What I should have said is that I am fortunate to having been born in the USA. I should also add that although the Thai home was basic I could tell that the family was very happy which you can't always say about American households. I also generalized after seeing only one residence. I have many nice apartment buildings and a fair number of BMW's and Mercedes Benz's as well.



I am posting a pic of the swimming pool and hot tub so you can see why I like it so much.



That's it for now.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0955s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb