The Great Seated Budda


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 8th 2005
Published: December 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, we didn't get the bad guys but at least the drama is over.
Today was a very good day, I went to Wat Po which is the oldest temple in Bangkok, had a personal guide show me around and give me the scoop on the whole Buddism vs. Hinduism story. His name is Ton (stood only like 4 feet tall and couldn't have weighed more than 50 pounds) and was 29 years. He was a trained as a monk in his earlier life for 10 years and now studies philosophy at the University. Great tour guide and knew everyone in the 20 acre temple.....all the other monk teachers. It was very interesting to learn about this ancient religion and where it all came from. I had planned to take a class on mediation but was too late for that so I'll try again in Chiang Mai.
After this he points me to another temple to visit where the worlds largest seated Budda is located. I head over there and go inside. There's a couple of temples...the first has this one lone monk in full chant and in a very difficult seated position. i take my shoes off, go in, and sit down in the temple and just listen to him. A few minutes of this and I'm ready for the big budda. The next temple over has the big budda. He's huge, gold plated, with all kinds of ornate stuff around him. The walls are all painted in great detail and the very clean soft extra padded carpet is fire red. No one is in the temple at all....just my traveling Gnome, Budda and me. I take my shoes off again and go inside. 30 minutes go by and I've got the place to myself. It was very peaceful except it felt like about 150 degrees in there....maybe that's why no one was in the place. I prayed for good luck and left.
Tonight was quite, I had dinner and am packing. I've got an early flight out to Chiang Mai. I hear it's beautiful....Good bye Bangkok....


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



8th December 2005

Stinky Feet
Wow - I would be in trouble having to take my shoes off so much. Or at least the people around me would be in trouble. I would have to make sure not to bring any of my stinky shoes with me. Glad to hear you weren't thrown in some kind of Bangkok-ian prison for illegal gambling or something. I think I'd like all those short people. They would make me feel tall. Have fun!
9th December 2005

Lighten Up Krasin P
It appears that maybe Krasin is a Thai person with no sense of humor? It is perfectly clear in the blog that the writer was only kidding about climbing Buddha. In fact if you read all of his blog entries you can tell it is written with a light hearted point-of-view. While I'm sure there are people in the world that would think it is perfectly okay to climb any religious statue, you can rest assured that this blogger is only joking. Now me on the other hand, I'm heading to Rio to climb the big statue of Jesus. I figure anyone's god has to have a little sense of humor. :-)
11th December 2005

Smarten up Big Bri
Big Bri, I think I have some sense of humour. The joke about the short (Thai) people making Rosalind feel tall is OK with me. You see? In Rio, will you climb the staircase inside the big Jesus or climb over his body and head? Have you finished climbing the roofs of all the famous cathedrals and Jesus statues in your country? Ooh, not a very fine joke. Ha ha. DataflyGuy, thank you for visiting Thailand. Sorry if I have made you feel uneasy. I have had enough of this and will not be bothering you with my comments again. Travel safe, feel free to write anything you want and have a great time! Bye.
12th December 2005

Krasin...my sincere apology
This is Dataflyguy writing to you the only way I am able. I wanted to apologize offending you or anyone else that might have read this travel blog. I've removed the part that you spoke about earlier as I agree, it was inappropriate. Thailand is a beatiful place with beautiful people. I have much respect for your culture and faith and I would never want to offend you or anyone. I'm visiting to learn more, appreciate your hospitality, make friends. It did not take me long to see the humor I wrote was not funny. I don't know who this "Big Bri" person is as I've only been responding to those people who I know. Again, please accept my apology, and thank you for making me aware that this kind of humor is off color. Best wishes, Dataflyguy
13th December 2005

No hard feeling at all. I just wished to express my curiosity, but my apologies if you felt uneasy with or offended by my comments. Thank you for removing that part of the story. Anyway, please feel free to write anything about Thailand. Travelblogs are fun to read because bloggers talk about everything they want to while readers who do not agree with what they read can take the liberty to post their protests or arguments. With kindest regards, Krasin

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb