Whacky Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 7th 2008
Published: May 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all, a quick update from Bangkok...

I have no idea if there are any road laws - the very first bus I took stopped in the middle of the motorway so the driver could let his friend get out, the cars behind had to swerve either side of us... To everyone else this seemed perfectly normal.

Met some guy on my way over here who told me how to avoid scams, he must have told me about 100 by the end. I was advised not to suck a man's nipple if I was offered, or inject anything I am asked to (just in case I wanted to!)

Got a free guide around Bankok's temples from someone I met called 'A' - I have no idea how this name is actually spelt but it's just pronounced 'A'.

Had a game of snooks with a chap from Laos and his mate (I forget their names but both were unpronouncable) - 'You win I buy you beer, I win you buy me beer'.... I won both.

Went to the night market to buy some good old counterfeit goods, got myself a fake Tag Heur watch after a hard bargaining session. In the middle of my shopping everyone randomly started shouting and hiding all their stuff... I asked why and the guy just shouted 'Police police go go go!'

Food is amazing and cheap.


Off to Chiang Mai tonight to get away from the pollution and whackiness of Bangkok... I've put a few photos up but this computer is just so slow that I can't be bothered to do any more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb