One Night in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 25th 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tuk-TukTuk-TukTuk-Tuk

You know you've arrived in Thailand when you see your first Tuk-Tuk. Translated, it means "cheap-cheap"
After a four-hour flight overnight from the airport in Mumbai (which can be roughly approximated as a cross between a bus terminal and an OTB), I arrived in Bangkok early Saturday morning. Once I got in the cab, I was immediately excited to be travelling in a vehicle for the first time in a week that was able to achieve speeds in excess of 40 miles an hour without having to climb to 35,000 feet first. After dropping off my bags at the Hilton Millenium and having some breakfast, I took a short ride on the hotel's free ferry service down the Chao Phraya River to the central ferry terminal. They even let me pilot the boat for a few minutes! I then caught an express ferry back up the river to visit the Grand Palace and Wat Pho. While I took dozens of pictures, I didn't have the benefit of a guide, so while the pictures are nice to look at, I don't have any of the context behind them (and I'm too lazy to research them on Wikipedia right now).

After leaving Wat Pho, my plan was to walk to the Golden Mount (Wat Saket) and Wat Ratchananadda,
Piloting the Hilton Shuttle FerryPiloting the Hilton Shuttle FerryPiloting the Hilton Shuttle Ferry

More difficult to steer than you'd think. Lucky it was a wide river
and then take one of the canal boats east to MBK mall. However, after a 30 minute hike in 80 degree weather, I got to where I thought I should have been able to at least see them but couldn't. Being pretty tired from 2 hours of sleep on the plane and being somewhat behind schedule, I elected to just hop in a cab and head to the mall. I spent around an hour there, and then rode the Silom line of the BTS Skytrain to its last stop of the central ferry terminal, and then caught the hotel ferry back.

I checked into my room and indulged myself with a bath, which after a day of walking around Bangkok and a week of living in India, felt like heaven. My room with its 28th floor nearly panoramic view of the city was probably the best hotel room I've ever stayed in. Dinner at the Thai restaurant Yuan at the hotel was not up to the standards of the rest of my hotel experience (I enjoyed every one of my meals in India more), and to my great surprise I found out that it was "pre-election weekend", and that
Hilton Millenium BangkokHilton Millenium BangkokHilton Millenium Bangkok

View of the hotel from the express ferry
no restaurants or bars in the country were able to serve alcohol! Afterwards I headed up to 360 Bar on the top of the hotel, and while the views were spectacular, it was basically empty due to the alcohol ban. Too tired to push my luck by going into town, I decided to call it a night and vowed to return another day...

On to Manila...

Jason


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mythological GiantMythological Giant
Mythological Giant

Grand Palace
UnknownUnknown
Unknown

Grand Palace
UnknownUnknown
Unknown

Grand Palace
UnknownUnknown
Unknown

Grand Palace
UnknownUnknown
Unknown

Grand Palace
Full View of the Giant Reclining BuddhaFull View of the Giant Reclining Buddha
Full View of the Giant Reclining Buddha

Forty-six metres long and fifteen metres high, decorated with gold plating on his body and mother of pearl on his eyes and the soles of his feet
UnknownUnknown
Unknown

Wat Pho
UnknownUnknown
Unknown

Wat Pho
UnknownUnknown
Unknown

Wat Pho
Democracy MonumentDemocracy Monument
Democracy Monument

Built to commemorate the June 1932 military coup which led to the establishment of a constitutional monarchy in what was then the Kingdom of Siam
Giant SwingGiant Swing
Giant Swing

A structure renovated a couple of times since its construction in 1784, and used in ceremonies where Brahmins swing, trying to grab a bag of coins placed on one of the pillars. Its use was discontinued in 1935 after too many fatal accidents
View from the Skytrain BridgeView from the Skytrain Bridge
View from the Skytrain Bridge

Between MBK Mall and the Skytrain station
MBK MallMBK Mall
MBK Mall

MBK Mall
View from My Hotel WindowView from My Hotel Window
View from My Hotel Window

View from the 28th floor looking north along Chao Phraya River
My BedroomMy Bedroom
My Bedroom

Wish I got this much sunlight in my bedroom in New York
My LivingroomMy Livingroom
My Livingroom

Best hotel room I've ever stayed in. Period
Al JazeeraAl Jazeera
Al Jazeera

Yes, I was able to receive Al Jazeera in my hotel room


27th February 2008

The Beach
No visit to the beach? What am I saying, it looks like you did a bunch in just one day. You must have been exhausted.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb