Some quick thoughts


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm down to 8 days left in Thailand. It seems surreal. Just like I couldn't believe it when I first came here, now I can't believe it that I am almost leaving. I think I'm ready to come home though. I've grown to like it here but obviously there are things about home that I miss and that I am craving. I especially can't believe that Jason is going to be here on Monday and that I'll get to be a sort of tour guide for a week. I'm really excited to have him here and to show him all the wonderful things I've gotten to see, as well as some of the not so wonderful things I've seen.

I think with school I've really made some progress in a lot of different ways. I think I've gotten a little better in the last week or two at using different teaching methods and at trying to be a little more creative in my classes. But unfortunately, just as I'm starting to settle into a groove here I have to leave and start all over again at another school. Either way, the time teaching at the school here has definitely bee good for me. The students certainly were not up to the level that I expected them to be at, but it's exposed me to a different culture and learning styles, and it's shown me that I can handle a different type of student than what I am used to. I've also gotten to experience a block schedule, which I have never had before. While it has its advantages, I still can't decide if I like it or not. I'm used to having 80 minute classes because that's what I have at TCNJ and I think that it definitely has its advantages from a teacher's standpoint, but personally I don't know if I like it or not. I think I'd have to experience it for a whole school year before I could really make up my mind about it. Fortunately for me, my last week at school is going to be a short week because I am taking Monday off so I only have Tuesday-Friday. And what's even more exciting is that all of my classes are working on large projects so I actually only have to write and teach 1 lesson this week. While it'll probably be a boring week at school because of it, it will give me the opportunity to go out after school and enjoy myself with Jason rather than worrying about getting work done. The kids actually have school tomorrow (Saturday!) because the school is having some sort of enormous fundraiser and they made it a regular school day for all teachers and staff. Lucky for me, I will be in Cambodia this weekend so I'm actually missing 2 days of school because of this trip (Saturday and Monday). Oh well. My battery is about to die so I'm going to end here, but I'm off in the morning for Cambodia and I will post on Monday or Tuesday when I get back. See you all soon!

Advertisement



23rd February 2008

You're lucky you get to travel all over the place. I want to.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb