First Day of School


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 14th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first day of school. We followed the teacher's instructions and left here when she suggested and ended up getting to school about 30-40 minutes early, so now we know we can sleep in a little later. After waiting around at the school the teacher finally showed up and gave us a quick walking tour of the school. The school was pretty big and beautiful. It was like a small college campus. Instead of having a cafeteria, they pretty much have a large food court where you can get both Asian and Western foods and it's almost as cheap as getting it on the street. After the tour I met up with the history department supervisor and he showed me some of the stuff where the history classrooms are and then we went to go find my cooperating teachers. One of them had classes all morning so he told me to come back around 1 and we could talk then. My other coop couldn't be found, so I ended up sitting in the teacher's workroom from 8 until 1 reading the newspapers from Saturday, Sunday, and Monday to keep myself busy. It was so boring. Finally I met with my coops and they both seem like they're going to be great. They were both really nice and seem like they're going to help me with almost anything I need and am going to sort of let me do my own thing in the classroom yet still give me guidance. My first time teaching is going to be this coming Friday when I'm going to do a mini lesson, and I'm doing another mini lesson early next week and by that time I should begin to take over one or two classes full time and hopefully within 2 weeks or so I will take over all the classes full time. So I'll be teaching 4 classes total, but only two different subjects so the lesson planning aspect shouldn't be too difficult. It will probably be time consuming at first until I get used to it again (It's been about a year and a half since I last taught so I have to get back into the groove) plus I don't really know the information that's being taught in the Asian studies class so I'm going to have to learn it on my own. But overall I am excited to be at the school and think it will be a great experience. They're going to set up my laptop so I can connect to their network and print stuff using my computer, which is probably going to be very convenient. But overall the day wasn't quite what I had expected, but I knew today wasn't going to be a normal day and tomorrow is going to be better.

It's only about 5PM here now so I haven't done anything besides go to school today but later we're going to try and go out and get some groceries for breakfast and snacks. Blogs probably won't be everyday anymore just because they're all going to be pretty much the same thing most days but I still should post once or twice during the week, and definitely on the weekends, or at least on Sunday nights to recap my weekend.

Advertisement



25th January 2008

it's good to hear that your coops seem solid. that's definitely helpful in the overall experience! onward in the entries!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb