This will be short...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 4th 2008
Published: January 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was planning to write a really long and intricate blog but its 11 pm and I only got 4 hours of sleep last night and we leave for the airport in 5 hours.

We left the center yesterday-it was very sad leaving the animals and most of the people. The last few days I really began to feel like I was getting the hang of things there. Except that I smacked my head once again against the concrete trees in the bear enclosure leaving a cut on my forehead. My New Year's was uneventful as my intestines and I were having a battle-they won!

We did go on our elephant safari but we didn't see any thing but a pair of eyes belonging to either a loris or a civet. When we left the center we went to the Cave Temple in Phetchburi. Aside from being swarmed by macaques, the temple was absolutely beautiful and I can't wait to show off my pictures. There are three different images of Buddha depending on what country your in.

After the cave temple, we stopped at yet another 7-11 (I've never been in so many in my life). I carefully scoped out the potato chip aisle and saw nori (seaweed), pork sparerib, spicy chilli squid, etc flavors. I've tried some of them in the past but Intestines and I were just beginning to get along again.

Bangkok is great. We have a much nicer hotel and spent most of yesterday and today shopping. My whole suitcase is souveniours as I left most of my clothes at the center bc they were disgusting! Last night the girls wanted to go out so we went to the Irish pub again and ended up talking to people from Ireland and South Africa. There was clubbing and drinking, and dancing but for me a very uneventful night except for a really cute guy from Denmark that opted to give attention to my friend with a boyfriend (his loss!).

Today we had a spa day, I got a foot massage and a facial with a mask. I'm not exactly sure what they were doing but at one point they were shoving sharp objects into parts of my skin on my face. The nose was a particularly sensitive area and I had tears streaming down my face (also coincided with the end of my foot massage). The lady removes the things on my eyes to show my a cotton wad with really gross things on it that I can barely see thru the tears in my eyes.

After that things were pretty straight forward, pedicure, cut, highlight, etc. So right now I'm just trying to relax a bit and enjoy the last bit of time in Thailand. I miss you all and I can't wait to see you all very soon. I've got lots of souveniours for everyone (especially Di)!

Mom and Marla-I'll call you from Chicago if everything goes according to plan.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb