Next Day in Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 8th 2006
Published: December 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Out and AboutOut and AboutOut and About

Bangkok Street
Today it is the next day. I forced myself to sleep throughout last night Thai time, and was able to wake up this morning at 7:30, so that was good. I walked around for a while already, and came back here since I have to switch into another room (my room was booked tonight). I even found a starbucks! Two of them. I also took a bunch of pictures. I was just informed that my new room is ready, so I'm going to switch, then set out for the day. In a little, I'm meeting up with this kid I met from Chile. He's cool. He's been here for a few days, so he's more used to the city than I am. He's going to show me some areas, and help me with the skytrain. Supposedly, I am to take the skytrain to the river, then take these boats from spot to spot along the river. Each of the main parts of the city is accessible by boat, therefore making the waterways the way to go (there's a lot of traffic!). Thailand is so cheap, it's awesome. I got a 3 day pass on the skytrain for the equivelent of a
StarbucksStarbucksStarbucks

Thank God
dollar fifty us. Also, the boats are usually only 15 baht, which is less than 50 cents.

It was great walking around this morning. The people in Thailand are very very nice. It's definitely something to see here. A merging of the old with the new. There is construction EVERYWHERE. I've taken pictures. Amongst the sea of old wooden shanties luxury apartments are springing up that would go for at least 2 million a piece in nyc. But, you know how much they start for? You can get a studio, VERY NICE, modern apartment with security for 25 grand US. Amazing. For 100 grand you can probably get a three bedroom penthouse. All around where I've been walking, there are also these GRAND private homes. At least 50 million a piece if in NYC. You see these huge gates, and on the back side are these huge, amazing houses, with awesome architecture. It's not like there's only one or two of these. Just in this neighborhood I have seen at least 25 of these huge homes. A lot of money is coming into this city. I heard a lot of it is from China. But, on the flip side, you walk around and just outside the gates, it is like a third world country. Kind of like Chinatown less any regulations. I am going to go to Chinatown also today, within Bangkok. Supposedly they have their own section within the city, as they do in every city around the globe. OK. I'm taking off, and am going to switch rooms.

Talk to you later,

Dan

PS. I am also going to Banglampu today, so I will try to get a cheap cell phone there. This phone, even if I can get it to work, is totally useless. Even while off, it only keeps a charge for about an hour.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Bangkok StreetBangkok Street
Bangkok Street

There are so many moto bikes all over the place.
Chill Out AreaChill Out Area
Chill Out Area

This is an area on the roof of the hostel that they had set up to hang out.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb