WOW


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 13th 2007
Published: October 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

WOW...is all I can say. I have tried to imagine what this place would actually be like for the past 4 years, and it is hard to describe. All I can say is COME HERE! The flight was deese...I had a mini panic attack on the Seattle leg (ya, the 2 hour one...go figure). TANNIS: "Can you get my friend some water, she's a little panic-ey"...ha, the stewardess didn't even flintch, but Tan gave me Yoga breathing 101 and kept me from ripping open the emergecy door and jumping out. Land in Tokyo....the toilets were halar...talk about technology on the old porcelain. Buttons galor. And as soon as we landed in Bangkok, we hung in the airport for a couple hours, had some Thai food, and a couple beers. I think we were too scared to actually face the unknown world right beyond the sliding doors. But we did eventually, and our first hostel was super shady...ha, but ok. The people here are soooooooo nice and pleasant. The boys are smiley and unbeliveably bashful. I had no concept of what that word meant until now. Bashful=Thai boys. We met up with Tan's Aunt here in Bangkok last night for dinner in here sweet hotel in Sukhumvit (main road in Bangkok), and she treated us to dinner and a hotel room. So, after 1 day, we were already being spolied in the riches. What a sweetheart she was. So that was last night, and today Tan and I are staying still in the Sukhumvit area. So now it's day 2, and we found an unreal hostel with GREAT people. Today, we caught some trains to the main river here in Bangkok (can't remember the name, may be the jetlag, or the 3 Singha's we just crushed), and visited some temples and stuff. The scenery was unreal. More than I ever could have imagined. Every few hours we have to remind ourselves we are actually here. You guys, this place is awesome. Tomor we are heading on an elephant trek, and seeing some monkeys ride bicycles...lol. We are at the internet cafe right now searching flights to Siem Reap (Cambodia) for Monday morning, hotting Phnom Pen mid week bu boat down the Mekong River (sick) and hoping to be in Cambodia for the rest of the week. Only to fly back to Thai and head south tow the beaches. It has been rainy, but to our advantage. Humidity is not something I'm ready to complain about yet. A few more days and I should be able to ditch my body cream. I forgot my cords for my cam, so i can;t upload pics...sor! But soon to follow. I couldn't imagine feeling this happy hear. It's a lot to absorb, but it has exceeded all expectations thus far...and we are still only in Bangkok. Hope all is well in E.
Write back soon. Miss you! XOX
Steph
Feef
Ints

Random thoughts:
The smog is huge here. I wish i would have put some Edmonton air in a tupperware container. what i would kill for one deep breathe of canadian air.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb