Downtown Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 24th 2007
Published: September 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Skytrain 1Skytrain 1Skytrain 1

A view from the Skytrain. I have to say, the train itself was great - on time, not packed, Air-Conditioned!!!! I didn't even feel that bad being the ONLY white person!
Hello again!

Woke up early this morning because old Mr. Sympathy Vote had to have his temperature taken and take his medicine(s) - thanks a lot.

After Rob found out in more detail about his short-term prospects, which basically involve best case at least 2 more weeks in hospital, I had to plan what I was now going to do Hans-Solo style.

As any right minded westerners would no doubt do in a quandry of such severity, we went to Starbucks (and yes, my Starbucks card works here). After a lovely iced-latte and some serious pondering I decided that I would head to the islands for a week from tomorrow and then catch up woth Rob to get an update.

So I headed off to downtown Bangkok to explore its sights and sounds and book myself some transportation to Koh-Tau. I took a meter taxi and managed not to get ripped off too badly, then walked around a bit before grabbing a sky-train to MBK. Up on the platforms I got some nice photos, didn't really want to get ye olde camera out on the streets - being the only white guy for 3 blocks in every
Skytrain 2Skytrain 2Skytrain 2

Anohter view...
direction was enough advertisment thank you very much. Anyways, I was glad I decided to take some photographs because here I met some lovely Monks. They were pretty friendly and apparently6 we are going ot be friends online from now on, I have their email addresses and they have mine... next stop Budhism.

Next followed the antithesis of Budhism - MBK shopping centre - basically a giant indoor market where you can actually buy anything. I was quite pleased, everyone seemed to like me because everyone kept saying "Special Price for You"...

Didn't take any pictures in here, but trust me its pretty big. Bought myself and Rob some lovely goodies including a watch for me. At 300baht (4.4GBP) it's a tad cheaper than the 80,000GBP "Jacob & Co." watch I nearly bought (but wasn't allowed to take a picture of either way) in Dubai, yet it's still just as bling.

Also on the pressie list, a mini tripod (finally - Dubai completely sold out!?!?!) 7 DVDs for 10GBP, 10 CDRs for 2GBP... you get the picture!

Then I hit Khao San road - the ubiquitous tourist place. Basically hassle-central. I just walked around for a
Skytrain 3Skytrain 3Skytrain 3

Some more...
bit some I can claim to have done so, then booked my transfer to the islands - a bargain at 10GPB for the whole journey (night coach, with A/C thanks very much, then catamaran - "Velly Quick" apparently).

This road is not ideal for single people as you just attract everyone from Tuk-uk drivers (who just pop up from bloody everywhere) to Prostitutes (of all sexual incarnations) to Street vendors selling something which is supposedly food to small boys who just follow and ask questions to Mr. Tailor man. Again everyting is "Velly Cheap" and a "Special Price for Me" - it must just be my perfect bone structure.

I couldn't really handle this place for much longer and couldn't be bothered to hit a bar so I just decided to head back to the hospital (Rob kept calling me to come home and tuck him in anyways). Little did I know this would turn into a 20minute haggling affair. Starting at 450Baht I did manage to get it down to 200Baht which is still a rip-off but I just couldn't be bothered after a while. They know you're a tourist around there and there isn't any other
Skytrain 4Skytrain 4Skytrain 4

And another view (last one I promise)
choice. Apart from the 120Baht ride I was offered by one "Taxi" driver. I clarified up-front that it wasn't a Tuk-Tuk and that it was a taxi, "Yes Yes Yes Mr. Greg". So I followed him, given that 120B is about the right price. Anyways, it turned out to be a moped with a piece of cardboard with "TAXI" written on it. I said I'd do it for 50Baht if he had a helmet. No joy!

So back to the hotel and Rob and his crutches.




I'm catching a night coach tomorrow so I'll arrive down in the islands Wednesday morning so prepare for some photos of me enjoy some extreme relaxation!

Take care

Kor-Due-Rai-karn-A-Harn-Noi?

(May I see a menu?)


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

National StadiumNational Stadium
National Stadium

Not quite as big as some of ours...
Mr. MonkMr. Monk
Mr. Monk

My new best friend
AerobicsAerobics
Aerobics

I spotted this whilst in a cab - a whole army of women doing aerobics at a motorway interchange (under a road at a spaghetti-style junction!)
Khao San RoadKhao San Road
Khao San Road

Complete with prositutes, food stalls and tuk-tuk drivers
Not sure on the legal status of theseNot sure on the legal status of these
Not sure on the legal status of these

Don't go and think you'll be able to get these at the price I did - that was a special price just for me
Bling WatchBling Watch
Bling Watch

Jacobv & Co. eat your heart out


25th September 2007

Kor-Due-Rai-karn-A-Harn-Noi?
One of the interesting things associated with the Blogs is the pop-ups. against this blog I have a popyp for Beautiful Thai women for dating and for ADNEC which is the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre. Can any one find a link between these two????
27th September 2007

the joy of the far east!
enjoyed this blog! witty and reminds me so much of the 'joy' of negotiating with the little eastern people!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb