Go Pee Pee


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 25th 2004
Published: October 25th 2004
Edit Blog Post

morning strollmorning strollmorning stroll

more like "hike". we took a hike up to this viewpoint of the island.
Actually, the name of the last island on our trip is spelled Koh Phi Phi, but we thought that we'd give you the phonetic spelling😊...

We boarded a 3 day/2 night train ride to Krabi, which is in the southern west coast of Thailand. We read about this cool little town in a magazine while on our Brisbane to Bangkok flight a few weeks ago and met some nice folks throughout our trip who suggested that we make the trip. And we are so lucky we did!! After leaving our mud filled laundry (which was just about EVERYTHING in our packs) with a local laundry place, we went out to explore the town.

We hired a longtail boat to a beach about 30 minutes away (Rei Ley Beach) and we found ourselves surrounded by palm trees, huts, and beautiful limestone rocks bearded with amazing greenery. We also bumped into a number of rock climbing places and we spent half a day climbing these faces and overlooking a gorgeous beach. By nightfall we were back in Krabi, exploring the night market: Thirst quenching fruit smoothies, fried tofu, fun pastries,
on our way to Phi Phi Leyon our way to Phi Phi Leyon our way to Phi Phi Ley

Phi Phi Ley was where they filmed the movie "The Beach".
wild fruits, black sugared sticky rice wrapped in banana leaves, and "interesting" BBQed meat. We only struck out a couple times -- we tried two meat kabobs that we were told were chicken, and later found out that they were chicken livers. yum.

The next two days we spent swimming, soaking up the sun, sipping drinks out of pineapples and coconuts and more rock climbing on Rei Ley. Wonderful!

Then off to Pee Pee. Unfortunately, we were only able to spend one day here because we decided to fly back to Bangkok and the dates we had anticipated for our flights were already booked. YIKES!

Matt and I hired a longtail boat to Phi Phi Ley, an uninhabited island which is a smaller island about 30 minutes from Koh Phi Phi. We rented snorkels and fins and spent half of the day swimming with parrot fish, trumpet fish, angel fish and others that we wish we could name! They were sooo beautiful!! We saw larger fish in Australia, but there were so many out here!! And they were not scared of us at all!! One even took a nibble off of Matt's finger -- don't worry, it
the most expensive picture of the tripthe most expensive picture of the tripthe most expensive picture of the trip

but he looks great, doesn't he??
wasn't a shark or anything. I wish I was able to show you them....

which, actually, brings us to our next excitement on Koh Phi Phi. I thought that Matt's dry bag would be able to keep my camera dry (I mean, why else would it be called that?) while I took a couple pictures for you. Unfortunately, I was wrong. My camera didn't stay dry...and I ruined it😞. But I can't complain -- it was my misjudgement. And neither of us got eaten by sharks on our way back, so hey. Plus, I got an AWESOME underwater picture of Matt and my memory card did not get wet (so our pictures were saved! yay!) and for the first time on our trip Matt didn't feel like he was dragging me into the electronic stores -- I was dragging him!

I got a pretty good deal for the same camera, so don't worry...you'll still get visual updates.

I fly out to India on the 27th and Matt back to Boston on the 28th 😞, but we decided that we will continue to write as "mattsy" until Matt has moved down to DC. Then I will start my
crazy fruitscrazy fruitscrazy fruits

i loved these fruits in Mexico and I had to take a picture for you! they are kiwi-like in the inside, except white with black seeds. yum.
own blog and give you the new url for that one.

Have a great week!
Go Red Sox! We are loving you from afar!
and you, too, Patriots!

patsy & matt




Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb