Bankok - New Year festival 13 April - 15 April


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 20th 2007
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

VictimVictimVictim

Me at one night club which was ankle deep in water!
I arrived in Bankok, on the 13 April. This just happened to coincide with the beginning of the Thai New Year - known as Songkran.
The festival involves nailing as many people with water as possible. Waterguns, iced water, buckets and even the ultimate - garden hoses are acceptable water distribution medians.

I welcomed Songkran for my first 4days with open arms.
1. Thailand is really hot at the mo - up to 40degrees and it felt every bit of it. So my time in Bankok was welcomed with
2. It really passed the time whilst I waited for Leon. In fact, I hardly saw anything cultural whilst I was in Bankok. I was too busy experiencing the festivities.

It all started from when I stepped of the plane. A lovely expat working for Red Cross kindly invited me to share her taxi. On the way to town, we were hit by a bombardment of different water weaponary.
I was in shock. My first impressions of Bankok was everyone was on drugs. What were they all doing on the streets soaking wet?
We refuged from the chaos in her apartment and soon I was combating the heat with a beer. It just goes to show, there is some loving people out there, full of hospitality.

The hostel was nice. Despite my 20hours of travelling from Nice to London to Bankok, I was eager to have a look at the festivities. So I went for a wonder, unsure exactly where I was going. It just so happened that my eye for fun had not adjusted but after a Pad Thai, I was soon heading for Koa San Rd - where all the action was! The taxi driver lead me in circles before I just got out and braved the water and face touching...
Following the action, I was soon in a club and feeling at home having a beer with a Swede and Safa. Welcome to Bankok. In the blur of the night, I ended up in a Tuk Tuk with 2Thai girls, who I can not remember meeting. We flew through the streets with a great deal of precision and ended up at Spicy Club.
More partying, a game I called "spot the ladyboy" and a couple of beers later I had had enough. It had been a long day!

The following day I went around
Fast timesFast timesFast times

Tuk tuk home
the streets getting amongst it with Adam and King. Both room mates and real good sorts. Personal space has no meaning as girls touched my face and pretty much whatever they wanted in the chaos. How rude!
We finished the day with some awesome Thai food and a beer bong with 3litres worth of beer. Mmmm!

I managed to fit in some token sightseeing on day too. I spent a brief time looking around some markets which included live pets, rip offs of everything you can imagine - basically original copies of anything you wanted if you could withstand 40degrees C. I had a run in with the police. They shot me - with water. Yes, suprisingly the cops get into it to the festivities in good spirits. Everyone is fair game!
After this I visited the old part of town. I discovered the network of canals and cruised up the chaotic main river. Bankok used to be the Venice of the East you know. Was sensational and probably my favourite part of Bankok. I could sit for hours and watch the boats and bustling on the river.

The festival was for an epic 5days and so the
Fast timesFast timesFast times

Tuk tuk home. Very fast.
craziness continued. Everyone had abandoned their businesses in favour of water fights. The highlight was going with a local to several Thai bars. Water was flying everywhere inside the bars.
We then went to a foam party and several connecting bars which spilled you on to a wide walkway. People everywhere and the mandatory touching continued.

Leon returned from Changmai after the festival. We took a couple of days ordering suits and getting them tailored. I have had one fitting and hopefully all goes to plan...

Bankok is one of those dirty places which one must visit for a few days. I just happened to be involved in the biggest water fight in the world. It was great timing and in my mind, everyone in Bankok are maniacs but I love it!



















Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

San KranSan Kran
San Kran

Bankok New Years. This is Soi Cowboy - elephants, water fights and white powder. Out of control!
San KranSan Kran
San Kran

Beer bong time! Adam, King and I chilled out for a couple of days over New Years. We found a gem of a market which sold beer by the 3L.
Touch of frogTouch of frog
Touch of frog

A mixture of drunkeness and missing out on frogs legs in France, I decided to go for frogs one night out. Not looking that appealing really.
Token templeToken temple
Token temple

ดำอทำนท ยทำพเน Buzzy, somehow I pressed something and no I can write in Thai
Written Message Written Message
Written Message

King and me after our adventure to Gogo club. A lovely lady wrote us a message on this poster... no hands. She could also do things with ping pong balls.
Sunset from the hostelSunset from the hostel
Sunset from the hostel

The view from the garden on top of the hostel was outstanding.
Out on itOut on it
Out on it

Leon, Ant and I out for some buckets... with some guy who was trying to sell bom bom.
BucketBucket
Bucket

Red bull, coke and some random spirit. All good.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb