12 planes, 10 ferries, a load of bus journeys and 1500km in the 750 Rebel


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 21st 2007
Published: March 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have had such an amazing 5 months and can hardly believe that i fly home tomorro. In a few days this will all feel like a dream but i feel so happy that i have had the opportunity do do all the cool stuff that i have over my time away. I am looking forward to coming home and seeing everyone again but i am sad about leaving my relaxed and exciting time out here.

When i first arrived in Bangkok i felt scared but so excited about my time away and i soon got into the life of travelling around, living out of my backpack, never being properly clean and getting used to being away from home. Looking back on my Intrepid tour through Thailand i have some great memories and got to see and know so much more about Thailand than i would have travelling on my own.

By the time Gaz met me in the Phillipines i was used to travelling on my own and it felt weird having Gaz with me but i soon got used to that and we have had an amazing time together out here. It is great that we
Loving the Oz WayLoving the Oz WayLoving the Oz Way

A down-under action!
got to experience all these cool things and look after each other whilst doing so. We have so many stories and memories that im sure you will here a lot about when we get back.

Visiting Sam in the Phillipines was a great escape from the backpacking life as we spent a week in more luxury than i was used to and we had a great time and a hell of a lot to drink. We headed to New Zealand with hangovers and i caught the flu as we headed around the south island on the Kiwi Experience Bus. I loved New Zealand, it had the most amazing scenary out of everywhere we had been. The weather was a little shocking to what i had been used to but purchasing some warmer clothes sorted that out and we had an awesome time. One of my best days travelling was spent in Queenstown when we did our bunji jump. I was so so scared but the adrenalin was pumping and we had a wicked night in Queenstown celebrating our bravery.

We were sad to leave New Zealand but excited about heading to Australia. My favourite city in Australia was
Koala, Australia ZooKoala, Australia ZooKoala, Australia Zoo

Love the Koalas, they are so cute!
Melbourne and we spent an awesome christmas on Bondi Beach, Sydney. We did so much in Oz and spent a hell of a lot of money on a load of activities including our Skydive on the beach which was amazing and our time travelling in the campervan, which was one of the highlights of my trip.

We decided to leave Australia early and spend more time in Asia. We spent 10 days in Malaysia visiting Singapore, KL, Penang and one of my favourite places on the trip, Langkawi. The day we spent at the Seven Wells was so good and we enjoyed our time in Malasia but were desperate to get to the Southern Islands of Thailand for some gorgeous views and some well needed rest, relaxation and sun before heading back home. We have spent a month in Thailand and visited 9 islands on the west and eastern side of Thailand. There have been some gorgeous islands with the most beautiful being Ko Mok and Ko Lipe. I liked the mixture of the busy and the remote islands and the last month has flown by. I am really pleased with the amount of time i have had to
Langkawi, MalasiaLangkawi, MalasiaLangkawi, Malasia

A long way from home
see Thailand. It is an amazing country with so much to offer, it is my favourite country on the trip and i feel i have seen it well. My tour gave me an insight into the north of the country visiting the hill tribes and learning about the culture of the thai, whilst my time here on my own has let me explore the islands in a good amount of time and let me enjoy the sun, sea and sand.

I look forward to seeing you again in a few days, thanks Mum and Dad for all the help over the last few months, can't wait to get home now!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Thailand FlagThailand Flag
Thailand Flag

On the boat to Ko Samui


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb