2 hours in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 11th 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

2 hours ago I stepped off the plane in Bangkok, Thailand.

After passing through customs and getting reprimanded for writing my Australian visa information in my passport (thereby defacing it and possibly rendering it void) I was greeted by aggressive taxi drivers claiming they had the best fare. "700 baht. Best fare, I know! Let's go now," they would say. I ended up agreeing on 400 baht ($10usd) with a taxi driver at the terminal, forgetting the advice to always use the meter for the cheapest rate.

It was a 20 mile venture into the city. The taxi driver treated lanes like they were hot potatoes, swerving in and out of them making sure to never stay in one too long, all the while tailgaiting cars and beeping his horn. Back home you would think he was taking a woman to the hospital that had just gone into labor.

Saw stray dogs mobbed around in alleys, night markets were still closing up and young Thais were roaming the streets and bars and street food vendors and speeding around on scooters.

I got to Th Khao San and the taxi driver dropped me off. Here I would pick a hotel and get a bed for the night. Mobs of westerners were walking around the streets, most drunk and loud and obnoxious, making me feel like the sober guy that showed up late to the party. I picked a place that was reasonably clean and talked to an Italian guy in the room next to me and he said it was one of the best on the street, so I paid the 150 baht ($3.25) for the night and checked onto this computer.

Now it is past 1 in the morning and I'm going to sleep. I'll make a better effort on future blogs. But probably not.

It'll be interesting to see what new persective daylight brings to my new surroundings.

Advertisement



13th March 2007

Wow!!!
So glad you arrived OK and it's just Grand having this blog to stay in touch with your travels and share in your adventure! It sounds and looks just fascinating, so enjoy honey, take good care and keep the pictures and blogs coming. We vicariously are living through your adventure. Yay!!! Love Lots and Always, Auntie

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb