Canals and Coconut Smoothies


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 11th 2007
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey wat's up w/the negative press about Bangkok? Okay, I guess it's like strolling around a little corner of LA and saying "I love LA", but I had a great time today! First of all the air is gorgeous and clear - unlike up in Chiang Mai where it felt like we were smack dab in the middle of a forest fire in the smoke and the haze.

I had a restless sleep coz it was soooo hot in my room - the air con felt like warm, moist air was breathing on me all night - and I was alone! But this morning after finding coffee and a baguette, I got myself to the "boat taxi" stop - what a great thing! I was planning on just meandering down the river to the other Wat that I missed yesterday - Wat Arun - but I ran into a couple bargaining for a longboat to take them around some canals. I eavesdropped and ended up sharing this boat as we cruised thru this wonderful canal "street" with river life facing the water. Shakey shacks of tumble-down patched - together houses; kids jumping into the water (ummmm that would be nooo wayyy) people mending baskets, hanging out the wash - you get the idea.

We ended up at a very cool floating mkt (not the big,famous one, but rather a more local one right on this canal). The couple I was cruising with were from Kodiak, Alaska - nice intelligent folks. REally fortunate to run into them.

We ended up right at the Wat Arun after 2 hours on the canal and parted ways. Hot, sticky, hot, sunny - but not too much to handle. I had already drunk so much water and so much fresh squeezed OJ, I didn't think I could hold another drop - but you just sweat it out. Went back to my favorite juice guy (he had a beard and could have stepped off the ashram in Mendocino, but was Thai). As I sat there I chose a couple of fried bananas to munch on. A serene looking Thai - Chinese woman (turned out she was 78) suggested a shredded papaya salad like she was having. Perfect English. We struck up a nice little connection (remember I'm sitting on a plastic stool under an umbrella on the street). She took me by bus to China town - showed me a temple where monks were chanting, the incense burning, the people bowing. This was definetely not something I would have found on my own. I let her go on her way after she showed me how to get the bus back. Turns out she was a "correspondant" with a company and helped out with English.

I made my way back to my hotel about 5 pm. Ordered a big coconut smoothie at the little backpacker lobby and just sat for a while letting the swiveling steel fans blow air at me.

Decided to hang for a while in my room until about 7 pm - wanted a good Thai meal for my last night here and I got it. Coconut (again!) curry/chicken soupy thing with cilantro, lime, yellow peppers, sliced ginger root, stalky lemon grass and steamed rice. Fancy restaurant: price for dinner (including lime juice lemonade) $5.00 All the while Jack Johnson music going in the background of this tiny restaurant "Thousand Thank Yous".

Tomorrow, Bali!

Advertisement



11th March 2007

And Now, for somethng completely different
Glad you enjoyed Tailand and as I have said before your writing is great, I can see the old lady under the plastic umbrella talking with you. Your words are as a clear as your photos - which I really hope to see soon upon your return. What a great adventure. See boys, that's how its done right! Any idea when you arrive SFO?

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb