Ode to Kevin's Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 28th 2007
Published: February 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I would like to take moment, pause, and give a standing ovation to the one and only Mr. Kevin for not only providing some seriously luxurious accomodations the past few days--JW Marriott--but for also introducing me to the best kabobs in the world.

How did this fantastical story all unfold you might ask, well...I managed to met up with Nikki D & Christine's friend from Media, PA a few days ago as he is out here for a hockey tournament...I mean, business. Kevin lived in Bangkok for three years before moving back to the States & NYC. I was fortunate enough to cross paths with him before he headed back again. Kevin graciously offered his hotel room for my weary head & needless to say ever since I have been a complete waste of space. Sleeping in, watching TV, lounging by the pool, shopping, indulging in the executive happy hour filled with wine & cheese & many other spectacular appetizers and otherwise being the bubble traveler that hardly leaves their hotel avoiding all interaction with another culture. I tell myself that this respite was much needed in order to finally rid myself of the bouts of food poisoning I kept enduring. And, despite my clearly busy schedule, I did make it to the gym for my second run in two months! I will be sore for weeks, but breaking a true sweat was such a good feeling. Last night we had amazing Thai food & I got to met all of Kevin's buddies in Bangkok. Adam even left the comforts of Khao San Road & joined us for after dinner drinks--such a brave soul.

But alas, it ends today. Tonight I head to Chinatown & then back the northern Thailand. Ah, the life of a traveling princess...Kendall, you would be proud!

Love you all & miss you very much!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



28th February 2007

Pinky's out baby!
2nd March 2007

I LOVE IT!
Nice Kevin! Pinky out Baby!!! Sweet Set up you got out there! Linds, I'm glad you got to feel like a queen for a bit!!
3rd March 2007

I've enjoyed reading of your adventures. I can make connections to my short trip to China. I was about five degrees latitude north of Luang Prabang this summer. I guess that would be the same distance of Indy to Memphis, but it would take days/weeks longer with the Asian means of traveling. My 14 hour bus trip up the mountains also had the Asian music videos blaring and many breakdowns, getting stuck in the mud, etc.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb