Thousands of Buddhas later


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 20th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Khaosan roadKhaosan roadKhaosan road

Busy busy day and night
I have now spent one night and two hot days in Bangkok. After Qatar’s five star conditions getting used to the backpacker budget was a bit difficult at first. Particularly when I couldn’t find the air con from my room and there was some 50 degrees. Well, the machine was found and I actually had an enjoyable nine hour sleep. And when not tired, hungry or too hot I feel much more settled and have started to enjoy the chaos here.

Yesterday I took it easy and stayed close to the Khao San Road area where all backpackers live. I guess that was mainly because I didn’t have an idea how to get around elsewhere in the city, it all felt so big and crowed. So had a massage and pedicure (and today another herb foot massage - it’s getting out of hands…), organised visas to the next countries, and just wandered around instead. You can so tell which people are new to the country - the pale and flabby ones - whereas the travelers who have spent months here are all slim and beautifully tanned with messy hairs. I so hope that at some stage I could step out from the first category which I’m afraid I quite stereotypically represent.

Today I was more adventurous and have moved around quite a bit. First I fell to a typical tuk tuk driver set up - they promise you a cheap sightseeing tour but then take you places which are not for any interest (small Buddha temples) or shops/service providers that have commissioned the drivers. So after a couple of these places I decided to cut the tour short and took a taxi instead to the Royal Palace and Wat Phra Kaew where I actually wanted to go. I think I need to leave further tuk tuk rides for the other countries, as it is so polluted here and really don’t want to breath all the fumes. Plus you can hardly see anything from back seat!

More Buddhas and colourful temples followed as I saw another main attraction: Wat Pho where the largest reclining Buddha is displayed. It really was huge: 46 meters long and 15 meters high and nearly too big for the building. Another nice thing there was a row of some 50 cups where you could drop a coin for charity. People then walked in a
Reclining buddhaReclining buddhaReclining buddha

This one is one of the biggest Buddha images - it fills in the whole temple.
queue and dropped a baht coin (local currency) in each cup. I don’t know what is the actual purpose of the procedure but I was thinking one of my family members or friends every time when I dropped the coin.

In addition to tuk tuk and taxi I also traveled with a boat, which was by far the most pleasant and cheap way to get around. When I come back to Bangkok I’ll take another trip to see the klongs (side canals of the main river).

It’s only beginning but so far food has been disappointing. It’s probably because I’m mostly hanging out in the very touristy areas. I’ve eaten one very basic pad thai and left prawns in a sticky thai sauce untouched. It looked so utterly disgusting. Fruit and fruit juices and shakes are on the other hand so delicious that at daytime you don’t really need anything else. And so far (knock knock) I’ve felt good and healthy apart from slight sick feeling that follows swallowing the malaria tablet.

I’m taking a night bus tonight to travel to the Island of Ko Chang, south east from Bangkok The plan is to chill out until
Scary statueScary statueScary statue

There were lots of these in the Grand palace - and other temples.
Saturday, but if I haven’t read at least three books by then might stay even longer. My rucksack is so heavy and full that I really need to get lighter before continuing to north.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



20th February 2007

Terveisiä!
Mä oon niiiiin kateellinen! Toi reissu kuulostaa tähän asti aivan upealta. Täällä on jäätävän kylmä ulkona ja lämmin sisällä. Paljon haleja ja paljon kaikkea ihanaa toivotellen Hanna+muut
20th February 2007

Tuk tuk
Vaikuttaa mielenkiintoiselle! Harmi, että ruoka ei vielä toistaiseksi ole osoittautuneet huipuksi. Mutta toivottavasti se paranee kun pääset ruuhkaisimmista paikoista rauhallisempiin. Onneks on ne hedelmät. Kuulostaa ihanan rennolle! Noi jalkahoidot ja beachille meneminen erityisesti. (Tääl on -25 ja kova tuuli... ja yövuoro pukkaa). Toi tuk tuk vaikuttaa vinhalle. Näinkin niitä Amazing racessa : ) Mutta hyvä, että kekkasit vähemmän saasteisen ja nähtävyyksiä näyttävän matkustuskeinon. Mua nauratti toi kirjojen lukupakko. Mutta man's gotta do what a man' s gotta do : ) Nauti nyt rannalla pötköttämisestä!!
20th February 2007

Töllöstä tuli Borneosta ja Malesiasta
Tv:n matkaohjelmassa tuli Malesiasta tänään. Aloin katsoa sitä vähän kesken, mutta näin Borneon osuutta. Ne meni Borneon pohj. osaan (mihin säkin olit menossa, eikö?) ja kävivät Sepilokin orankikeskuksessa. Aivan kässäämättömän ihania orankivauvoja!! Ne sopeutti niitä luontoonpalauttamiseen. Olitko säkin menossa sinne? Mä en muista enää mitä kaikkea kerroit. Ja sitten ne teki patikkareissun sinne Kinabalu-vuorelle. Sinnehän sä olit ajatellut mennä, eikö? Yli 4000m ja parin päivän matka. Oli aivan sikahienon näköisiä maisemia!!!
23rd February 2007

Borneosta
Borneo kun on vikana listalla eli menen sinne vasta kesa-heinakuussa, niin en ole tehnyt kauheasti tutkimusta PAITSI juuri nuo kaksi juttua - orangit ja Mount Kinabalun haluan ehdottomasti nahda/tehda. Hyva jos nayttaa juuri niin makealta kuin olin kuvitellutkin. Mun Lontoon kaveri Iris tulee mukaan sinne osuudelle ja olen ulkoistanut tarkemman reittisuunnittelun sinne... :)

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb