Arrived in Bangkok ... and IT begins


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 17th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The trip across the ocean didn't get any easier this time! Ten hours from Vancouver to Tokyo, a three hour wait, and then another seven hours to Bangkok. The easy part was booking it at Van airport: travel light! My pack weighed in at 11.5 kg and because I didn't have any baggage to check in, I was whisked through. No standing in line! I looked at all the passengers with heavy bags and I knew I had made the right decision. Even going through security, was speedy because I had packed 'properly' for the new restrictions on liquids, etc.
We arrived in Bangkok around 10 pm local time ( 15 hours ahead of BC time) and took a fast moving taxi to the New Siam guest house where we are booked for a third night.

Yes, a third night..... we were supposed to take the train to Chumpon this morning but while we were eating breakfast - a bowl of rice noodles, chicken and broth - D. realized that his wallet was missing!
Every traveller's nightmare!!! A long day ensued - banks, phones calls, taxis, etc. Me ... I took off on foot and wandered along the river toward the university, then onto the Grand Palace grounds.
When I left the guest house, I didn't think about proper dress and when I arrived at the gates of the palace, I remembered that capri pants are not considered appropriate attire. If I had a short skirt on, I would have been allowed in; or long pants.

A 'guard' had a suggestion: take a trip to other monuments and come back a few hours later when I could 'rent' a sarong! I turned around, and a tuk-tuk driver was waiting for me to hop in and go 'shopping'. It's a big scam and D. and I argued with several drivers yesterday. Finally, we had to walk away. This morning, I walked away ... walked right across the street and bought a sarong from a street vendor, put it on and walked back across the street and onto the palace grounds.
The Wat Phra Kaew or Temple of the Emerald Buddha, is a beautiful sight to experience. Lots of photos to bore you with in the future!

The foot is holding up but my new Chacos leave a lot to be desired. Too many straps to tighten up as I walk!

The temperature is a pleasant 32C and I am keeping hydrated with about 5 litres of water a day!


So .... tomorrow it will be a second run on the train ride to Chumpon.
Ciao


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb