I like Bangkok, I'm taller here


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 4th 2007
Published: January 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Tristan's Trip So Far

Pretty simple really. Yesterday I was in Melbourne, now I'm in Bangkok

A Bangkok Tuk TukA Bangkok Tuk TukA Bangkok Tuk Tuk

I took this photo before I realised it would be more prudent to hang on
Well, I have been out of the country for less than a day, so the time has come to record everything I have done in minute detail. Rest assured that this phase will pass, and by the last week or so, the blogs will consist of "saw city, had food, its hot".

As far as flights go, the one to Bangkok was good. I killed most of the time playing connect four with another passanger named Marlon - people for uni will be pleased to hear that the game is entertaining outside lecutres too. I discovered an interesting fact: "holding pattern" is Thai for "an utterly boring time, just before DVT takes hold". To anyone travelling to the new Thai airport, it is pleasingly airconditioned and pristine, however I believe it is modelled on Ikea, as you spend a whole lot of time wandering around feeling like you are being made to see the whole thing. Having been sped along the freeway at 180km/h in an eighty zone, I was in bed before you could say "Welcome Bangkok, tuk tuk, where you going?"

At the moment, I'm hanging out in the tourist mecca that is the Khao San Road
The Golden MountainThe Golden MountainThe Golden Mountain

A temple in the middle of Bangkok with great views. Would you believe the one person I met there was from Melbourne.
in Bangkok, having spent the day looking around various sights. Contrary to my earlier belief, I actually had lots of time to see everything, so really didn't need to get up at 630am. The day started with the buffet, which was really just piklets and coffee. Duly nourished, I headed off for the Grand Palace (the number one very special Bangkok destination). I'd forgotten how, let us say, interesting riding in a tuk tuk is. You certainly get a sense and a smell for the place. Currently I associate Bangkok with petrol fumes and lane splitting.

I learnt a valuable lesson at the Grand Palace, ask the people actually in the place you want to see, rather than listen to anyone outside, regardless of how nice. A man (albeit a very nice one, a bus driver, I think) reckoned that the Grand Palace was closed til one pm, and I should do a lap of various other temples (he game me a list). It took me two minutes into the tuk tuk ride to realise, but on the plus side the ride was cheap to the first (the Golden mountain, a great view of Bangkok and a memory from
The Grand PalaceThe Grand PalaceThe Grand Palace

Absolutely packed, the Grand Palace was extremely ornate - its beauty was helped by the fact it was a beautiful day too.
last time) and I went back to the Grand Palace strainght afterwards.

Lunch was on the Khao San Road, followed by an attempt at bargining. The weather (32 degrees) is not really conducive to shopping, so I chilled out with a book, and took in the city.

On that note, the place doesn't seem too affected by the recent bombings. There were very few military on the streets, and the touristy things were plodding along as usual. I even went past the democracy monument on the way from the airport, and unless you read the papers, you would never had guessed.

As for being here by myself, it really hasn't been much of a hassle. I'm sure if I had to travel up country it would be harder, but I kind of enjoy it. I was thinking how long I could do this for, as I have barely had a conversation with anyone, but it is nice to be in a city as a complete outsider. There are so many people about, the sky so clear, things so cheap, and the people trying to rip you off so happy about it, that you can't help but like
The Grand Palace (again)The Grand Palace (again)The Grand Palace (again)

As I say, packed. It was pleasant not to be tied down to a group as so many were here.
the place. I would definetely like to come back here soon.

Ahhh Bangkok, you will forever be that city where traffic rules are more of a guideline, and the people are that heady mix of drunk teenagers and ageing hippies.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The Khao San RoadThe Khao San Road
The Khao San Road

The tourist mecca of asia. And it seemed that every shop sold the same things.


Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0776s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb